We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bakery for bread, rolls, cake, cookies...”
Review of Amy's Bread

Amy's Bread
Ranked #11 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery for bread, rolls, cake, cookies...”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is in Chelsea Market. I highly recommend their oatmeal scones, peasant seed rolls, but I think you can't go wrong here. The first time you go, you will be overwhelmed with good choices and you will be very satisfied with whatever you chose. The staff is very friendly so just ask
them to help you decide. Shop here then get coffee a few feet away at Ninth Street Coffee. Chairs and tables set up just outside the bakery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hertz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    270
    57
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great desserts”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fantastic German chocolate cake this visit and have never been disappointed in the past. Ned a public restroom though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYC2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Fresh Egg, Bacon, Biscuit”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

They were a bit late to open and not the bright eyed happy go lucky kind of staff. But the food was probably the best biscuit I have had. The scone was very good and the muffins were a bit dry however I would love to try some more. The seating area is a bit small and if you have more then 2 people in your party you will be sitting at the next table. The front door is basically where the line starts and you will not be able to move from that spot until you can order since there is no room to go out. But the food is worth all the downsides of this bakery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CityTravelerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cake!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We had lemon, coconut and chocolate slices. Very good! I loved the lemon-very tart filling and sweet icing!

Helpful?
Thank toothfairyintennesse
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zhenjiang, China
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So good”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a banana but scone that was so good I may have to visit this place every day for my fix! And their oatmeal raisin cookies to die for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amy's Bread also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Amy's Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing