We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and fun”
Review of 2nd Avenue Deli

2nd Avenue Deli
Ranked #166 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a lively place to eat! Crowded with families, couples old and young, friends -- commenting on their neighbors' food, sharing laughs and opinions. The chicken matzo ball soup was really good, not up to my mother's, but better than other delis. Good juicy corned beef sandwiches, ordered and delivered lean. Delicious complimentary cabbage salad, like a healthy cole slaw. The best kasha varnishkas I've ever had, full of caramelized onions. This is really good deli food (much better than Carnegie) and a fun scene.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LATraveler1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    264
    74
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Kosher food at the Deli”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were two couples visiting NYC and a family member( New Yorker) of one couple introduced us to this Deli restaurant for evening dinner. The seating areas in the restaurant are tight but the food more than makes up for this. The corned beef is delicious and plentiful portions provided. Try the potato pancakes also delicious. We were served home made dill pickles as a side dish and they disappeared quickly. My wife and I shared a chicken salad sand which filled the spot for us. Staff were courteous and helpful with suggestions about the menu. We would visit this restaurant again when in NYC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yenally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Quantity over quality”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had been looking forward to visiting 2nd Avenue Deli again, since it had been several years since my last visit. Many things I liked had stayed the same, but the cheese blintzes which had been so good have changed for the worse. Not only have they grown to a mutant size, but they are now so large that they do not heat all the way through when they are fried. Needless to say, I was very disappointed after waiting such a long time to visit 2nd Avenue Deli again. Please reduce the quantity and increase the quality back to what it used to be. I didn't have a sandwich, but I overheard diners at adjacent tables complain that their sandwiches were so large that they could barely eat half of them. Almost everyone packed up their leftover sandwiches to take with them, so the sandwiches must have been okay except for the size.
Next time, I'll order something other than the cheese blintzes, or ask the kitchen to make them smaller, if possible. I recall that the tuna, rye bread, and matzoh-ball soup were good. The bathrooms were very clean, worth an extra star.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“No better place to Nosh!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

By far the best corned beef sandwich I've ever had....ever! Great service, great food, loved the pickles and cabbage salad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMUMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kosher Deli!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the real thing with attentive service and waiters. The menu opens one to the world of kosher foods and Eastern European delicacies. The bakery is marvelous. The wait staff is well informed and can answer your questions about menu items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirrel404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2nd Avenue Deli also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to 2nd Avenue Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing