We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kosher Deli”
Review of 2nd Avenue Deli

2nd Avenue Deli
Ranked #172 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Kosher Deli”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean, attractive, and pretty quick. Tasty too. Good bagels, but only tofu cream cheese! Good omelettes and nice hash browns.

Helpful?
Thank Travelavel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    264
    74
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches and attentive service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a little find here in NYC. We tried to seek out a lesser known classic Jewish deli other than the popular ones. And this place did not disappoint. The name of the deli is a little misleading, since it is not on 2 nd street but we figured it out. The interior contains a small deli where one may purchase sliced meats, pickles and other kosher foods. The deli is small but comfortable with old style tiled walls and floors. Our server was excellent! Very friendly, recommended a few of his personal favorites and the manager came around several times to make sure our experience was enjoyable. The pastrami and corned beef sandwiches were smoky and sliced thin, just the way I like them served with Russian dressing and mustard on the side. The onion rings were such a perfect accompaniment to the sandwiches. Light and sweet and not greasy or heavy. An assortment of pickles and tomatoes were served on the side. The sour pickles were delicious, but the lighter green ones I would avoid. The flavor was unpleasant and "stinky". One suggestion: I would have loved a basket of breads on the table. Other than that, I would suggest giving this place a try

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Kosher Deli in Town”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Best Kosher Deli in Town. Well, maybe even the entire East Coast.
Folks from Europe come here to sample an old country taste. And not just Jewish folks.
I see many Russians, Ukrainians, Romanians, French tourists gulping matzo ball soup and kasha varnishkas. They make their own Romanian Pastrami. Russians tend to bring their own bottles of vodka. Directly from Moscow. They often burst into singing.
There are photos of the movie and theater stars from the early 1900s. There are stars on the pavement in front of the restaurant, just like in Hollywood.
Many waiters here worked all their life. I see some in their late 60s.
Why cry with nostalgia when can eat the Old Country food and smile?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Glad to find 2nd Ave Deli”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent the weekend in NYC with my daughters and so glad we found the 2nd Ave deli! The best pastrami sandwich I have ever had and the pickles were equally as good. The soda shot at the end was a pleasant surprise. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still my favorite kosher NY Deli”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A truly kosher (not kosher-style) deli. Best soups and sandwiches (especially corned beef and pastrami) in New York. Soup and half-sandwich special is a fair deal and plenty of food.All meals end with a complimentary Bosco soda shot. Visit at least once or twice on every NYC visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2nd Avenue Deli also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to 2nd Avenue Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing