We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Lunney's

O'Lunney's
Reserve with OpenTable
O'Lunney's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #246 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway & 6th Avenue
Transit: N/Q/R/1/2/3 - 42nd Street F/M/B/D/7 - Bryant Park 4/5/6 - Grand Central
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
203 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“friendly spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Wandered in by accident after a full day's flying looking for a snack and a drink. A well poured pint of Guinness and a plate of O'Lunney's famous (so I discovered) crab cakes proved exactly what the doctor ordered. Service was efficiently and friendly, and I could well have imagined spending a longer evening if jet lag hadn't prevailed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    265
    95
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

After seeing a show and eating at an Irish pub next door to the theatre, we made our way back to our hotel and decided to have a few nightcaps in O'Lunneys. (We hadn't realise it was next to our hotel) Great atmosphere, great G & T's, Guinness and Tia Marias. Mickey D was the first Irishman we met in an irish pub. Good crack, good service, attentive without being intrusive considering the bar was busy on a Monday night. Two complimentary drinks rounded the night off nicely. Would definitely recommend and would visit again when in the Big Apple. Thank you Mickey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a very nice irish pub. The food is good and the drinks are awesome. They also have kids menu.
The irish coffee is just the way it sould be.
The atmosphere is great and it is a fun way to sit and drink.
The service is excellent and the people are very nice and serve you with a smile.
We will definately come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ygotlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat near Theatres”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were grabbing a bite before a show and weren't looking for fancy and expensive. O'Lunney's was perfect. The staff was very friendly. My meal of an Omelet and Salad was fresh and delicious. Others in my party had burgers and such and were happy. It was quiet at 4:00pm when we were there. Nice atmosphere and Clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service near Times Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Popped in late on a Friday night for a few drinks. Close to Times Square but not full of loud tourists. Bar man was very friendly and posed for pictures with some other guests. Easy to get a seat at the bar and the bar staff were attentive but not intruding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Lunney's also viewed

 

Been to O'Lunney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing