We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, it's an Irish Bar...but you'll like it”
Review of O'Lunney's

O'Lunney's
Reserve with OpenTable
O'Lunney's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway & 6th Avenue
Transit: N/Q/R/1/2/3 - 42nd Street F/M/B/D/7 - Bryant Park 4/5/6 - Grand Central
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OK, it's an Irish Bar...but you'll like it”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

NYC has tons of "Irish Bars"...some better than others. O'Lunney's is at the top of the list for several reasons. First, the location. Right off Times Square. Then there's the space. LOTS of room in this horseshoe shaped pub...plenty of seating at the bar, on the floor and off to the side for sit-down dinner. The staff is very friendly and the service is good...and a good pour at the bar. and for food recommend the Pot Pie. We spent St Patrick's Day (evening) there and had a great time. There is a band at that back end, on one side of the bar, so you can make your choice accordingly. We will definitely go back next time we're in NYC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dubhlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    281
    96
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Irish pub”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stopped in O'Lunneys for a quick bite and a drink. We thought the atmosphere was great. The bartender Mickey was very friendly. We were also travelling with a larger group of ladies and had found out that our dinner reservations at another restaurant had fallen through. O'Lunney's was able to accomodate our large party with one day notice. The prices were reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duchess050664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

While on your visit to NYC we ate here because it was right across from our hotel. We got seated right away but waited forever to even have our drink orders taken. Eventually we got our drinks and placed our order. The server was very rude and not friendly at all. She acted as if it was a huge chore to wait on us. The food was great, no issues at all. But don't expect any drink refills if you happen to get the same server we did. After we finished eating, it took forever to receive our bill. I had to ask another service to please get our bill for us. I personally would never eat there again because of the poor service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momtonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok for lunch if you are in the area, but not worth a trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food is ok on the run. Used to have an office near there, and would go for lunch sometimes. Avoid the drinking crowd.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlo3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was in NYC for my usual 5 night holiday every March with some friends. We normally use Connollys next door, or The Perfect Pint. Now I know why. We decided to go in there one night and possibly get settled in at a table for the night if the place and atmosphere was good.

I was there with 3 couples including myself. We all thought it was dark, a bit cold, and no atmosphere. To top it off the barman thought we were doing him a disservice by asking for a drink. The first time we thought maybe he was having an off day, but after the third drink we decided he just doesn't like his job.

We were prepared to stay there all night, instead we left after little over an hour. We won't be back.......Connollys or The Perfect Pint, that's where we'll be in future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IRLKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Lunney's also viewed

 

Been to O'Lunney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing