We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Smorgas Chef

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smorgas Chef
Ranked #6,160 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Norwegian, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: West 4th Street
Description: On a picturesque cobblestone street in the heart of New York's West Village, Sm��rg��s Chef NYC serves a fine selection of Scandinavian cuisine. There is al fresco dining during the warmer months. Focusing on fresh ingredients, vibrant herbs and delicate flavors, the Sm��rg��s Chef menu features Scandinavian delights like Swedish meatballs and lingonberries, herb crusted salmon with juniper sauce and Nordic chips with caviar dip. A delicious dessert menu offers Scandinavian soft vanilla waffles and Norwegian apple pie, while the drinks menu boasts some of the best cocktails and beers Scandinavia has to offer. Sm��rg��s Chef - West Village has a unique style defined by a modern mural depicting the Scandinavian landscape. Blue glass bottle lamps adorn the cozy banquettes and tree sculptures decorate the interior. Drawing in a stylish celebrity crowd Sm��rg��s Chef - West Village restaurant is surrounded by elegant designer boutiques. 14th Street- 7th Avenue Subway Station is a 6-minute walk away.
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised the first time we came here for brunch. Since then we have been back for brunch and dinner and it didn't disappoint. I'm not a big Swedish food fan but their menu is outstanding and everything tastes so good! Great service, too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmcbDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The best of the West Village”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is hands down my favorite place to go for brunch in the West Village. The restaurant has outdoor seating and the location of West 4th and 12th makes for a great corner to sit outside and enjoy the quiet of the West Village. I eat here probably a few times a month and absolutely love the service. You can sit, enjoy your meal and not feel rushed. Most of the food comes right from a farm in the Catskills, so it's fresh and mostly pretty healthy.
This is a fantastic restaurant and I'd rate it as my number one choice for brunch and one of my top 3 choices for dinner in the neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“who would have thought it”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Actually I was quite skeptical about Scandinavian cooking..but the salmon I ordered in this place changed my mind! It was absolutely tasty and the serving was rich. I suggest it and the restaurant as well!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AneresMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Different Restaurant Tucked in the West Village”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a nice four course dinnner with wine last weekend. The wine pairings were good; although, I wish they brought the bottle when pouring so that you can better understand what is being provided.

Swedish meatballs were very tasty as was the kale salad with butternut squash. Seafood casserole was excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBigIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Year Meal”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a meal there New years eve and it was great food and plenty to drink. Enjoyed it and were pleased with our choice of restaurant

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lukeyboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smorgas Chef also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smorgas Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing