We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculous and Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grey Dog

The Grey Dog
Ranked #1,430 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Description: Neighborhood coffeehouse serving eggs, granola, sandwiches & salads in a homey, laid-back setting
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Ridiculous and Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I went on a Sunday morning and thought I'd have a nice coffee and a muffin and read the Sunday paper. Unfortunately, and completely contrary to the city's laws, this place welcomes dogs and there were 4 or 5 dogs in there. I guess since most places that serve food follow the NYC hygiene laws and keep dogs out, all the locals come here. It's disgusting to be eating while someone's dog is frisking all over 3 feet away from you.

From what I gather, the owner and the patrons think they're above the law and ordinary rules of civility and sanitation.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“First time's a charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We waited 5 minutes to place dine-out $8.95 hearty breakfast order of egg sandwich, with cheese and bacon on croissant (served with home fries). Place was packed, tables filled, so the order taker brought out chairs for the 12 minute wait. The ambiance is earthy, cozy, hip and dark. Karma jar (aka tip jar) is located near the cash register so those that place donations can watch the universal law of cause and effect play out in their lives. We returned to our well lit hotel room to eat what turned to be a perfectly prepared, delicious and quite filling meal for two. Would definitely return to try other selections.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank slowee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“To have a original breakfast in New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Grey Dog situates in a typical and original West Village environment, where you might imagine to see Bob Dylan (maybe it was too early), hear Paul Simon huming.
We went there, as planned, just to have a real new yorker or american breakfast in a typical new york breakfast restaurant. We could imagine, that it was just like it should be. We enjoyed reasonable priced coffee, pancake with marble syrup etc.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Risto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Baked Oatmeal rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I visited for a hangover breakfast in late December. Very cute, very New York breakfast joint which was buzzing with a queue although we didn't wait too long until we got a table. What I loved about Grey Dog's was the variation on the breakfast classics. I only tried the baked oatmeal, but it was awesome. Great twist on a classic breakfast and super tasty, hit the spot. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellinglondoner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great breakfast hangout !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great choice of menu to suit all tastes. Freshly made food and great tasting coffee. Good service in a great location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grey Dog also viewed

 

Been to The Grey Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing