We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value, especially for SoHo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good value, especially for SoHo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel does not look inviting or trendy from the outside, but it is in SoHo, within walking distance of all of SoHo, and the rooms -- while small -- and baths have been updated nicely. Overall, a very good value for SoHo.

Room Tip: A City View room will be quiet and give a nice view of the Empire State Building; the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Fehrenb,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. We are glad that you found good value in our hotel and it's location. We hope this means you'll come visit again soon so that you can experience more of our service and town.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    675
    232
    79
    45
See reviews for
403
539
99
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Let's start w/ the noisy heater in my room....only to have the heater wake me up in the middle of the night only to break down and left me with a freezy room. Called the front desk @ 2:30 am only to find there was no other room to sleep in. Was offer 15% off my room rate after asking for the 100% GTD policy that all Hamptons Inn honor. Not in this case, only offered 50% after calling Customer Support for assistance in the matter. Will continue fight Legal services @ Hilton Cooperation until i rec'd my due 100% GTD policy. Will never stay @ this property and ask everyone that reads this to stay somewhere else in New York. Poor service and don't care attitude management who will not speak w/ you directly only to send someone in Marketing to talk with you. Hilton Corporation should take there francise away from them for not
supporting and honoring the corporate standards. Shame on you Hampton Inn - SOHO!!! Ray701

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our guestrooms and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. I am truly sorry that I missed out on this issue personally as I would of addressed as it should have been addressed immediately. Perhaps you may give me the chance to make a possible return trip to Soho a much better one than this last one. Feel free to e-mail me directly informing more about your stay, klein.vergara@hilton.com. Look forward to speaking to you.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Let me start by saying the main reasons why I booked this hotel were price, free wi-fi, and free breakfast. That being said, there were not so great things that probably outweighed the benefits of those three things.

Let's start with pros:
- Very convenient to 1, A, and C stations. Catching a cab on 6th Ave is easy, too. You can pretty much get around to anywhere easily.
- Wi-fi is free and relatively fast.
- Hotel staff were polite and accommodating.
- Water pressure in the shower was great.
- Nicely renovated common areas.

But here are the cons:
- The heater was extremely loud. It was really cold while we were there, so we had to have the heater on at night, however, I got up in the middle of the night and turn off the heater to get some quiet sleep, which resulted in a cold room in short order.
- About half of the time we were there, one of the two elevators was not working. This isn't a huge problem if you're on the 4th floor, but it is if you're on say the 15th floor.
- The bed is really firm. So firm that laying on my side for any length of time kind of hurt.
- The extra blanket is basically the thickness of a sheet.
- The walls are not very soundproof. I could hear our neighbor's TV, telephone, and alarm clock.

Breakfast was okay, but did have a variety of options (usually an omelette, some kind of meat, cereals, baked goods, waffles, etc.), and we only took advantage of it 2 of the 4 days we were there.

In retrospect, if the room had been quieter, this would be an immensely better review. Unfortunately, our room wasn't the respite from the City that I was hoping it would be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gop1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Gop1972,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience about your stay with the Hampton Inn Soho. I want you to know that your sleep and comfort is one of the many important factors our hotel focuses on ensuring and I am truly sorry that didn't go so well. Perhaps I would of been able to accommodate you with a much a better option of a room and I am sorry we didn't get the chance to meet. I truly understand how inconvenient the issues we were having with our elevators were but can assure you that has been fixed and addressed. Sorry this occurred during your stay. Please keep me in mind, klein.vergara@hilton.com and contact me about a return stay, I would love to offer you a much better experience. Thank you for reviewing us, hope to get a second chance from you.

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcallen, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Even though we were looking for a cheaper hote, at this time of the year (Dec) its very difficult in finding something cheaper without having to take the subway from somewehere outside Manhattan...the Hotel was going through some lobby renovasions..The location was excellent, Breakfast was ok...staff was polite...we would stay here next visit, but we will choose a different month...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Marco M,

Thanks for being a current guest of ours. December may at times be an expensive month to travel to New York but I hope you found value in our hotel. Renovations are now complete and our new look is even more welcoming than ever before. We hope that on your next visit you think of us as we would love to host your stay again.

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The staff was great and our room was nice. The location was good as well. The lobby was under construction which was a little tricky to get in /out and the vent in our room did not work properly so we could not use it. Once the construction is finished, I think it will be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear recent guest,

We thank you for being a guest of ours. I am glad you found enjoyment at our hotel and that the location served you well. As our entire team was anxious and excited for renovations to be completed, that day has finally come. Hope this means you'll come check us out again soon as we would love to give you an even better stay this time around.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and overall a good option for NYC stay. Easy walking distance to red & blue line subway stops so very easy to get uptown to theater district for shows. Nothing special about the hotel, but also nothing stood out as a glaring problem. Still working on the lobby and bar area as of 12/9/13. If priced below other Hilton properties in NYC, would stay again - would rate 3.5 out of 5 if possible.

Rooms are on the smaller side, but very adequate for 2 people. It would be tight for more in my opinion. Furnishing are ok - wardrobe and dresser units are small but work fine for 3-4 day stay. A coat hook in the hall area would be a simple and much appreciated addition to the rooms, especially with bulky winter coats, towels, etc. Bathroom size is adequate and plenty of readily available hot water. No counter space for toiletries though - need to keep in dresser. Rooms were clean and they appear to take pride in keeping up with maintenance in rooms and common areas. Heating unit was a bit loud and uneven (room was too hot if left running).

The free WiFi is great and worked very well. Rooftop patio is very nice, if weather permits you to enjoy. The breakfast area is actually very large size for a Hampton Inn. Standard HI breakfast - but a very nice option to be included for no charge. 24 hr coffee/teas available in lobby is also nice perk.

Staff was nice and friendly. No concierge (bummer) but front desk was helpful. They booked a car service for flight home from LaGuardia that was great. Also recommended a great pub (Kenn's Broome Street Bar) a few blocks walk from hotel. Amelia’s Diner is around corner and great little dinner/coffee shop. Surrounding area pretty quite (except for occasional Tunnel traffic backups.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudDad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear ProudDad9,

Thank you for the exceptional review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you being our guest even through our renovation period as I am certain things appeared differently than they should. The good news is that our lobby has been finalized and looking great. We are glad that our staff served your inquiries as best possible as we aim to provide the best service we can. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were not informed that this hotel was under renovations, we booked a room with a city view but the view was of a water tower, the chairs had stains on them, the A/C was noisy, there was no room to put our luggage and no room for our toiletries in the bathroom and the towels had hairs. We've stayed at Hampton Inns all over the continental US this year and we were very disappointed when we heard from other guests they paid half of our room rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Luis R.

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our guestrooms and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to providing quality hospitality and accommodations.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing