We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #306 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Let me start by saying the main reasons why I booked this hotel were price, free wi-fi, and free breakfast. That being said, there were not so great things that probably outweighed the benefits of those three things.

Let's start with pros:
- Very convenient to 1, A, and C stations. Catching a cab on 6th Ave is easy, too. You can pretty much get around to anywhere easily.
- Wi-fi is free and relatively fast.
- Hotel staff were polite and accommodating.
- Water pressure in the shower was great.
- Nicely renovated common areas.

But here are the cons:
- The heater was extremely loud. It was really cold while we were there, so we had to have the heater on at night, however, I got up in the middle of the night and turn off the heater to get some quiet sleep, which resulted in a cold room in short order.
- About half of the time we were there, one of the two elevators was not working. This isn't a huge problem if you're on the 4th floor, but it is if you're on say the 15th floor.
- The bed is really firm. So firm that laying on my side for any length of time kind of hurt.
- The extra blanket is basically the thickness of a sheet.
- The walls are not very soundproof. I could hear our neighbor's TV, telephone, and alarm clock.

Breakfast was okay, but did have a variety of options (usually an omelette, some kind of meat, cereals, baked goods, waffles, etc.), and we only took advantage of it 2 of the 4 days we were there.

In retrospect, if the room had been quieter, this would be an immensely better review. Unfortunately, our room wasn't the respite from the City that I was hoping it would be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gop1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Gop1972,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience about your stay with the Hampton Inn Soho. I want you to know that your sleep and comfort is one of the many important factors our hotel focuses on ensuring and I am truly sorry that didn't go so well. Perhaps I would of been able to accommodate you with a much a better option of a room and I am sorry we didn't get the chance to meet. I truly understand how inconvenient the issues we were having with our elevators were but can assure you that has been fixed and addressed. Sorry this occurred during your stay. Please keep me in mind, klein.vergara@hilton.com and contact me about a return stay, I would love to offer you a much better experience. Thank you for reviewing us, hope to get a second chance from you.

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Even though we were looking for a cheaper hote, at this time of the year (Dec) its very difficult in finding something cheaper without having to take the subway from somewehere outside Manhattan...the Hotel was going through some lobby renovasions..The location was excellent, Breakfast was ok...staff was polite...we would stay here next visit, but we will choose a different month...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Marco M,

Thanks for being a current guest of ours. December may at times be an expensive month to travel to New York but I hope you found value in our hotel. Renovations are now complete and our new look is even more welcoming than ever before. We hope that on your next visit you think of us as we would love to host your stay again.

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The staff was great and our room was nice. The location was good as well. The lobby was under construction which was a little tricky to get in /out and the vent in our room did not work properly so we could not use it. Once the construction is finished, I think it will be better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear recent guest,

We thank you for being a guest of ours. I am glad you found enjoyment at our hotel and that the location served you well. As our entire team was anxious and excited for renovations to be completed, that day has finally come. Hope this means you'll come check us out again soon as we would love to give you an even better stay this time around.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and overall a good option for NYC stay. Easy walking distance to red & blue line subway stops so very easy to get uptown to theater district for shows. Nothing special about the hotel, but also nothing stood out as a glaring problem. Still working on the lobby and bar area as of 12/9/13. If priced below other Hilton properties in NYC, would stay again - would rate 3.5 out of 5 if possible.

Rooms are on the smaller side, but very adequate for 2 people. It would be tight for more in my opinion. Furnishing are ok - wardrobe and dresser units are small but work fine for 3-4 day stay. A coat hook in the hall area would be a simple and much appreciated addition to the rooms, especially with bulky winter coats, towels, etc. Bathroom size is adequate and plenty of readily available hot water. No counter space for toiletries though - need to keep in dresser. Rooms were clean and they appear to take pride in keeping up with maintenance in rooms and common areas. Heating unit was a bit loud and uneven (room was too hot if left running).

The free WiFi is great and worked very well. Rooftop patio is very nice, if weather permits you to enjoy. The breakfast area is actually very large size for a Hampton Inn. Standard HI breakfast - but a very nice option to be included for no charge. 24 hr coffee/teas available in lobby is also nice perk.

Staff was nice and friendly. No concierge (bummer) but front desk was helpful. They booked a car service for flight home from LaGuardia that was great. Also recommended a great pub (Kenn's Broome Street Bar) a few blocks walk from hotel. Amelia’s Diner is around corner and great little dinner/coffee shop. Surrounding area pretty quite (except for occasional Tunnel traffic backups.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudDad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear ProudDad9,

Thank you for the exceptional review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you being our guest even through our renovation period as I am certain things appeared differently than they should. The good news is that our lobby has been finalized and looking great. We are glad that our staff served your inquiries as best possible as we aim to provide the best service we can. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were not informed that this hotel was under renovations, we booked a room with a city view but the view was of a water tower, the chairs had stains on them, the A/C was noisy, there was no room to put our luggage and no room for our toiletries in the bathroom and the towels had hairs. We've stayed at Hampton Inns all over the continental US this year and we were very disappointed when we heard from other guests they paid half of our room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Luis R.

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our guestrooms and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to providing quality hospitality and accommodations.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of NYU, SoHo, the Village and all their charms. It is simple, clean and convenient. The staff is helpful and friendly. Convenient and inexpensive parking is provided nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Meribeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Meribeth M,

Thank you for stopping by to share your visit experience here at the Hampton Inn Soho. Glad to have been able to host your stay during NYU visit as we usually see many folks come down for the same reasons. Keep us in mind the next time around, hope to see you return.

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is located in a convenient spot and is walking distance (a brisk walk) to shopping, restaurants, and the subway. There is also a fair amount of both meter and free street parking available. However, the hotel lobby is under construction, dusty, unwelcoming and disorganized. In addition, the rooms are very small, do not have views, and although the hotel claims to be "new" the rooms appear to have been renovated. In other words, the furniture is modern but seems worn...it was weird...
Also, only some floors have ice machines, which then cut off after 9:30pm...you can go to the basement for ice...but with 17 or so floors...it seems like a long way to go for some ice, which btw turned out to be ice chips...like they give you in the hospital. There is a very small gym in the basement, and since anyone off the street can come in the hotel and access the elevator, using the gym alone would seem a little unsettling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAKY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear SAKY10

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and apologize for any hassle or discomfort caused by our current renovations. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 471 in New York City
1,507 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#308 of 471 in New York City
2,058 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 471 in New York City
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#330 of 471 in New York City
973 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#258 of 471 in New York City
1,093 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#194 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $121 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing