We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, good location and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #297 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel, good location and very helpful staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here end of May for a half term break. The hotel room was comfortable,clean and had all key facilities. We found it easy to get around all the main sights from the hotel and top marks to the staff, who were all very helpful. We liked the area around the hotel; there are lots of nice restaurants and shops to explore within. 5 -10 minute walk and this meant that the lack of a restaurant on-site isn't a big deal. We didn't have a problem with noise in our room. The breakfast is basic, but if you stick to fruit & cereals its fine, and its a bonus as it saves having to worry about finding your first meal of the day. I would certainly stay again on another visit.

Room Tip: The lifts were busy at times, so if you have difficulty in using stairs you might want to take this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear KL,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you were able to have peaceful sleep during your stay and that we provided you with the hospitality you deserve. We welcome you back on your next trip to NY and hope to see you spread the good word as well.

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
(Guest Service Agent)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    687
    239
    87
    49
See reviews for
415
553
105
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

OMG I am a frequent business traveler and a Hilton Honors member for years. I booked 2 nights in a Hampton Inn in Soho as I had business in the city nearby. The traffic going into the Holland Tunnel is absurd even after midnight even on a Monday night. When I checked in I requested the quiet side and the desk manager said she understood and would find me just the right room. Even as I write this at 1:30 am the sound of horns and sirens is ridiculous. I will be requesting a refund and moving to a different hotel tomorrow.

Sleepless in Soho

Room Tip: Does not matter what floor or side of the hotel you choose, traffic going into the Holland Tunnel ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank rsbain61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear rsbain61,

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are truly sorry to hear about the noisy experience you had last night. We hope that transferring you to a room facing north and away from traffic made your stay all the better.

I want to assure you that our focus here is to make the best out of all our guests stay. Please always remember that we are here to assist no matter what the question or concern is and no matter what time of day or night. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and the complimentary drinks from our Artifakt Bar. Thank you for being our guest.

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stay here every time I come to NYC. It's right off the A and 1 subway lines; so, it's very convenient to get anywhere in the city. There are plenty of nearby restaurants. And the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for being a frequent guest here at the Hampton Inn Soho. We trust that our service is meeting your expectations every time you visit us and we are happy to keep you coming back. Our staff focuses on providing personal service and we are happy to know that we are being both friendly and helpful. You know where to find us the next time around, see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel was very clean, breakfast good, was a nice way to save money in NY. Staff was friendly and helpful. The top floor deck was beautiful during sunset. Was within walking distance from the Subway. The bed was very comfortable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ivan C,

We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn Soho during your trip here to NYC. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel in it's entirety and especially that you were able to save money as well. Tell the family our staff says hello and that we hope we were able to help leave great memories behind. See you again in the future hopefully, thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Loved the hotel and the area Soho! Jay the manager went above and beyond with his wealth of knowledge on where to eat and get a drink. He even saved us a couple of dollars by finding parking for us right outside the hotel!! I would definitely stay at this property again without hesitation! After all when in NY you want everything within walking distance and this property was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensLoves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear sansaMontreal,

We are excited to hear back from you and appreciate the feedback you've gave us about the hotel. Jay says hello and is glad to have been as helpful as he could be during your trip here. We are appreciative of your compliments and hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at the Hampton Inn - Soho for a weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding for a complimentary breakfast - the hot items on the buffet changed from one day to the next! Our room was a typical size for New York City. Very nicely appointed, and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. There's no counter space in the very attractive bathroom, so be prepared to keep your toiletry kit somewhere else - perhaps in the large armoire in the room. Again, you're in New York City - counter space is at a premium. My only "complaint" is that the hair dryer had one speed - 1600 watts of "don't even try to style it"! But I didn't ask for a replacement as I had one of my own. The staff was very pleasant. Enjoyed a lively conversation over a couple of drinks with my son, the bartender and a manager just coming off his shift. Overall, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Glenn H,

Thank you for being a guest at the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho, we appreciate your choice in our hotel. I want to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with the rest of the world. I am happy to know that you found the staff pleasant and the rooms well appointed and comfortable. Our purpose is to provide Hamptonality for each and every one of our guests, we hope that your stay left you with a great lasting memory of New York City. Keep us in mind the next time your in town,ope to see you soon!


Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On the plus side, we had a comfortable stay here - the staff were friendly, the location is good and the room was adequate. The beds were very comfortable and there's tea and coffee available during the day.

On the down side, the hotel was very expensive for what was offered - we paid well over $300 dollars per night. It's true breakfast was included in the price but it was only just adequate. The cooked elements were really poor - and there's just not enough room when it gets crowded.

Personally, I don't want to eat out of polystyrene plates with plastic knives and forks. Even in the bed room, no proper glasses were provided.

The communal facilities are also extremely limited. The bar area - where most of the seating is - is out of bounds during the day because it's used for luggage storage.

If it were a fraction of the price - I would come here again and have breakfast out. But for what I paid, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Try not to be too near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0binsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear R0binsRule,

Thank you for taking personal time out in sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that our service and room features provided made your stay enjoyable along with the area.

We understand how pricey and competitive NYC hotel rates and want to assure you we charge fair-market value. Our hotel is due to start renovations soon to address the matter with space and we are excited that the project will improve the breakfast space issue the hotel faces during busier hours.

As an insider tip, hotel rates are at their lowest during the first quarter of the year in Manhattan. I think you'll find that you can make the best of an NYC trip during this time. We hope to see you again soon to see the exciting renovations!

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#182 of 468 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#184 of 468 in New York City
554 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#333 of 468 in New York City
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 468 in New York City
1,893 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
846 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing