We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View and Wonderful Staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great View and Wonderful Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had two rooms for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We have stayed at this hotel before because we love the location and the view from the rooms. The staff, especially J. Kumar, was most accommodating. I recommend that Mr. Kumar teach customer service to all hotel employees, he was that good. Rooms are not huge but it is NYC!! Great location and the Empire State building view is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear U4kids,

Thank you for being such a wonderful guest, we appreciate you returning back to our property. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay once again. We hope you took pictures of that great view!, Thank you much for the great feedback, and hope we’ll be seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    675
    232
    79
    45
See reviews for
403
539
99
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed the weekend while attending an event in Brooklyn. Great location in Soho, a few minutes walk to meet local friends for dinner in the Village. Room rates were very reasonable, allowing us to book two rooms, one for us, the other for our teenage sons. Convenient location just a block or two from the subway gave us easy access to museums and uptown locations. Left our car in the garage nearby ($30 overnight), but left it on the street just outside the hotel on Saturday night. The location near the tunnel entrance was inconvenient on Friday night, as the tunnel was backed up, and it took us about fifteen minutes to go 2-3 blocks to get to the entrance. The bar in the hotel was closed due to some code violations, but the Broome St. Bar a block away is a much better option anyway. Overall not a bad experience, as it's really hard to find a hotel that close to the village and e.g. NYU at this price.

Room Tip: We had a 14th floor city view room. Great view of the downtown and no traffic noise, at least on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Jonathan M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. It is great news to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend with the family at our hotel. Being that the hotel price was very helpful, we hope the area’s great shopping choices made your trip all the better. We do apologize about the traffic, weekends tend to become busier than usual but we are glad that the weekend traffic helped out. Hope this means we’ll see you again, thank you!

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you want to stay in the real NY not the tourist NY then this hotel for you.
A short walk to Greenwich Village & Soho; great shopping & eating!
Two subway lines just around the corner.
Our room was a good size for NY, clean, comfy beds & great view plus friendly staff.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choices & 24 hour access to coffee, tea & fruit.
Wifi was free!!!
Excellent value for money. We did not want to leave.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Cameroc,

How upsetting that you had to go, it seems like you were enjoying every bit of your trip. I am glad you felt our staff was friendly, we hope we assisted in every aspect of your stay. I’m sure we’ll be seeing you back here soon and thank you for your time and feedback.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location - a short walk to the West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown, Chelsea. Easy walk to Meat-Packing District. Two blocks from subways to midtown, uptown, Brooklyn, anywhere you want to go. Very friendly and helpful staff around the clock. Generous breakfast and warm cookies at the desk at check-in. Our 11th-floor room on the back side of the building came with a full-on view of the midtown skyline - Empire State and Chrysler Building. Got there late morning expecting to check bags until afternoon check-in time but room was available and up we went. Our room was next to the elevator and the hotel seemed full but we never heard a thing, slept soundly. Confused not to find fridge and microwave, thought those were Hampton standards. But we really didn't miss them. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor on rear of building, you might get a skyline view of Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Beth S,

Thank you for allowing the Hampton Inn to host your stay. We are happy to hear that our location served you well especially that it made it easy to go about your plans to visit other areas of New York.

We apologize that you weren’t made aware, but we actually do have complimentary refrigerators on request and an easily accessible microwave in our lobby. Please be sure to make this request should you return in the future.

We understand that getting a good night’s rest is of the essence and we were glad that this wasn’t an issue during your stay. I’ll be sure to thank our staff for delivering the hospitality you deserve. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Soho.

Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My Wife & I checked in on a Saturday and wanted to grab something quick to eat before resting up before a big night out. Ajani the front desk clerk gave us some great places close by with directions to each. Got our snack and went back to the room,,Great Bed and Great View .

19th floor deck was a very nice feature and provided Sunning Views.

When we left and got to Penn Station,my wife noticed that my wedding ring was gone. I called the hotel and Ajani answered. I told him what had happened ,he put me on hold and went up to look for my ring. No Luck ,He took my # and said he would talk to housekeeping. When I got home, He called and said they had found a ring and could I describe mine,,They had found My Ring and are Fedexing it back to me

I highly recommend this hotel for the Location,the Price and Most of All,,The Staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigWind6945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello Mr. BigWind6945,

It is great to hear from you again, we truly appreciate your feedback here on tripadvisor and I’m sure others will as well. We know how important customer service is along with hotel room and amenities and we are happy to hear that our team was able to make you happy both during and after your stay. I will make sure to let Ajani be aware about how much of a great job he did in impacting you guys in particular. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us came from Western Australia to New York for Xmas and new year. We picked the Hampton based on reviews and all of us can not rave about the place enough. The staff were amazing, the hotel facilities great and the location for eating, drinking and catching the subway superb. The bar and Tyler reflected the mood of the hotel, warm friendly and professional. Thank you the hampton, you made our adventure brilliant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Great to hear back from you and your family! It brings us great joy to know that we were able to make that sort of impact on all of you, especially during the holidays. We understand that location is important when it comes to making the best out of your trip and we are glad that was definitely the case while we hosted your stay. I hope this means you’ll be spreading the word and hopefully coming back. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is well placed.
The subway station is few steps away.
First I had a noisy room due to the air condition system after complaining about it I was given another room not noisy.
The staff is competent and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no noisy air condition system cause it can be hard to sleep with such noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Cliff860,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor about your stay at the Hampton Inn Soho. We apologize about the noisy air conditioning system but are glad that our staff was able to immediately deliver a solution. We aim to please when it comes to our guests and are glad that you found our staff members helpful and compotent. We are confident to see you return in future and will be looking to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing