We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Very Pleasant Stay - Will Return Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #309 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 4th Christmas in New York, our second time staying at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho. We stayed 7 nights, December 22 – 29, 2012, booking a fabulous flight/hotel deal via Expedia. We flew in/out of La Guardia. The cab ride to and from the hotel was an easy half hour, both times crossing via the Williamsburg Bridge. The cab dropped us in front of the hotel when arriving and we simply hailed a cab on 6th Avenue when leaving, each journey costing $35 with tip.

We stayed in room 601 which is a corner room facing north. Unlike last year when we had a fabulous City view, this year there was no view. But who comes to New York for the view out your hotel window?! We were very early checking in (10:30 am) and a corner King room was ready, so we opted to make life easy and settle in and not worry about a returning to the hotel later in the day in hopes of a higher floor becoming available.

Having stayed at the hotel last year, we knew what to expect. The room was very well appointed: comfy king size bed with nice linens and comforter; large wardrobe with plenty of drawers and space to hang our clothes; a safe large enough to fit a lap top; iron and ironing board; wall mounted flat screen TV; clock radio; a desk with an office chair and desk lamp; free internet which was easy to connect and fast; and there was a single cup coffee maker and supplies. The only surprise was the large shower stall which had only a shower curtain, no doors. When we inquired at the front desk, turns out we had been assigned a handicap room! No worries, the shower worked, but did make a bit of a watery mess on the bathroom floor, which caused us to use all our towels to wipe up the water each day. That being said, housekeeping did a great job keeping the room clean and well supplied. If anything was ever missed (bath mat one day, extra toilet paper another, only decaf coffee another day) it was quickly addressed when mentioned at the front desk. We had requested a mini fridge when booking and it was delivered soon after checking in.

The wait at the elevator did seem to be a little longer this year, which we put down to being mid-hotel. But it was never a huge inconvenience and we simply made sure to work the wait into our plans.

The included breakfast was again a wonderful start our day. Lots of hot and cold options which were replenished throughout the breakfast period. The staff that works the breakfast room is fantastic and does a great job keeping the place clean and well supplied.

Breakfast was usually busy, but we never had a problem finding a seat. People should not be afraid to share a table – just ask.

We love the location of the HIMS. Easy access to numerous subway lines. Soho, Greenwich Village, East Village, Lower East Side and Tribeca are all within easy walking distance. A little further walk to Union Square, Lower Manhattan, and Chelsea. A great spot for those who enjoy walking and are at ease using the subway.

Lots of restaurants, bars, shopping and site seeing within walking distance.

Upon check out, we stored our luggage (no charge) and returned several hours later to pick it up. The staff, while extremely busy, was always pleasant. A special mention to Front Office Manager Jatin Kumar who was extremely pleasant and helpful.

We would definitely stay at the HIMS again and would recommend to friends. Another great visit which was in large part attributable to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Is it really worth the extra $$$ for a City View Room? Save your money and enjoy a good meal somewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear TravelBugMississauga,

It looks to be that we've won you over as a repeat guest. Glad that your stay was pleasant as it appears that we continued meeting your expectations. We do apologize about the times room items were not in your room, we’ll make sure to address this with housekeeping for better practice. Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we appreciate all the details. See you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arrived early for check in after a 9 day cruise. The staff were excellent and they checked us in @ 11:30 am when our check-in was not until 4pm. We didn't have to ask, they just did it without issue or complaint. They gave us a wonderful room on the 16th floor (I think) that overlooked the Empire State building. It was such a nice room and a great view. It was comfortable and we were extremely happy. It's a tiny hotel with around 60 rooms but we had what we needed. Excellent stay and the staff were super helpful and friendly, offering my son a cookie while we checked in and even provided him his own hotel key card. Other than having some loud neighbours around 3 am, it was a great stay. I am rarely disappointed with Hampton.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Cindy M,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Soho. Our staff is grateful for the positive feedback and we are glad that we were able to impress you. We’d love to have you back here so keep us in mind the next time you’re in town!

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several nights in Oct and were pleased with the hotel. The subway is about 5 minutes from the hotel, so you have easy access to the whole city. We had a couple of meals at restaurants within walking distance and were very pleased with those: Mexican and Asian fusion. We were in a room near the elevator but never had any issues with noise from that. The hotel is close to the Holland Tunnel as others have mentioned, so the cab from the airport dropped us around the corner. We also had a room facing north, away from the street so we didn't have any street noise issues, but there didn't seem to be much traffic noise to start with. Breakfasts were good - fair variety of cereal, baked goods, fruit. Good place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wloo_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear wloo_andrew,

It is great to hear from you, we are happy to learn that you and your wife enjoyed your stay here. We are glad you gave us the opportunity to host your stay at our property and we hope we left you an everlasting impression. Thank you very much for taking time out to share your experience.

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked for weekend early December, easy check-in, heads up on breakfast, given discount chit for hotel bar, in room within 5 minutes of showing up at front door. Holland Tunnel entrance nearby keeps traffic clogged outside so best to hop in/out of your taxi on 6th if you can. Staff were friendly and you feel safe. Breakfast served early, full of guests but not overly so and the hotel keeps things clean and full. Outside you're in walking distance of Tribeca, SoHo (well, your'e in SoHo), Hudson River Park for walking or jogging (walk to The High Line, suggested), and the more athletic can get up Canal to Chinatown & Broadway. If you're a savvy but cheap shopper, look for sample boutiques, they're typically fly by night but you could find them, in SoHo and Broadway. Subway entrances are a bit of a walk, south to Canal & 6th is the closest. SoHo is very walkable, as it Greenwich Village, so enjoy your food, shopping, or drinks day or night.

Room Tip: As others said, due to Holland Tunnel, try and get upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teraflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear teraflop,

We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn Soho. It looks to be that the location served you stupendously and that you enjoyed your stay. Makes us proud to do our job and we hope this means we’ll be seeing you again.

Warm Regards
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My teenage sons and I visited NYC over Christmas and stayed 4 nights. I wish we had stayed in the heart of Soho or midtown. The staff were very nice and breakfasts were ample. However, it was a hike or several subway stops to get wherever we needed to go. We could also hear everything the family next to us said, some of it very loud (not the hotel's fault!). The beds were very comfortable. I just think it would have been an easier trip if we had stayed elsewhere in the city.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Gail-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Gail-VA,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize about the noise disturbance you’ve encountered, we would have made it a point to quiet down the situation had we known. We are sorry that the area did not work out for you. Perhaps during better weather the favorable Soho shopping area would work out better for the family. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho, we hope to see you again

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Cracking stay at the Manhattan Soho. I really don't see the point in paying so much more to stay nearer the midtown area when you are only a couple of subway stops from everything. The staff were exceptional- friendly professional and helpful. The breakfast was great- kept you going for hours and a wide choice and variety both hot and cold. Lovely clean rooms- No smaller than my bedroom at home. Sparkling bathroom. LOVELY shower. Great tv. My only grumble- and I think this probably only applies to the room we were in- was that due to being directly under the air vents on the roof it sounded like we were in a wind tunnel- and I never managed to quite get used to this. Had we been on a lower floor we would not have got this- but no doubt there would have been noise from the street instead. I would definately recommend, and for the sake of a 29 dollar subway card I don't regret not being "nearer the centre" for a moment.

Room Tip: North facing for a good view- which sadly we didn't get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wangsbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear wangsbird,

Our many thanks for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. I wish we would have known about the noise condition you were experiencing as we may have been able to offer other options in rooms that would have still avoided street noise. We hope if you do return in the future, that you do mention any concerns with our front desk team as we would be more than willing to assist.

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo in december (4-10) and had a great experience :)

The room was clean everyday with new beddings at towels etc. The breakfast was very nice, and had everything from waffles to eggs and fruit, juices and coffee etc. And there is a fine fitness room with the basic equipment you need.

The Hotel's location is perfect if you wish to around NY. It is located between two subways and the hotel will help you with the directions and maps.

I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because one of the receptionists was not so helpful when we arrived and the same person had the same attitude the rest of the stay. But the manager J, was so helpful and fixed everything. So this could of course just be an unfortunate experience.

I would recommend the hotel at any time and we already have family who will go there in the spring!

Room Tip: High as possible to get the view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Line S,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel while you experienced your trip to NY. Our sincere apologies that you experienced such inconvenience with that agent; we will make sure to address that. We are happy to hear that the remainder entirety of your stay went pleasant and we hope you do return in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#171 of 473 in New York City
1,518 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#146 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#305 of 473 in New York City
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#330 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#203 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing