We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SoSoHo, and that's a plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #305 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I came into town on a mix of business and pleasure. The location of this hotel is ideal. South of some of the most touristy of SoHo, we avoided most of the obnoxious but were still walkable to all we could have imagined. There was some additional traffic traffic due to proximity of the tunnel, but when it came time to "flee" Frankenstorm we were through the tunnel in minutes.

The staff was very friendly even as they prepared for the storm. The breakfast is a Hampton breakfast, nothing special. Just a little more cramped than I would have liked. We spent a little extra for a room on the 19th floor. Worth every penny. Great shower (pull the curtains if you're feeling shy), a little tight on space, but an amazing view. Only suggestion I'd give is to look into some slightly more comfortable for the terrace.

Quick suggestion- if it's late and you're looking for food- avoid Luppe's. Terribly slow service, screwed up both orders, and average Mexican at best. You're better off with a burger and shake from Kool Bloo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayKumar54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear ConPro,

It is great to hear from you after allowing our hotel to host your stay. We hope your trip back home went safely and that the storm didn't inconvenience you. We are glad to hear that our hotel and area served you well while you were here for both business and pleasure and hope that your feedback is helpful for future guests visiting for the same reasons. Thank you for the compliments, our staff will be delighted and we hope to see you return.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here in February 2012 over Valentine's, for 5 days. Firstly, I cannot fault the location, being in Soho, steps away from great shops, coffee shops, bars etc. Also the subway is just across the street (almost!) However, it is located on a strange spot, being right next to the tunnel, so traffic was busy at certain times of the day. Our room was okay, average I would say, very small. It was, however, very clean. My partner enjoyed the free breakfast every day too. We did have a problem when we left, we were going to get a cab on the street to take us to the airport (JFK) but the hotel said they'd get us a car (on commission, we later discovered). The car turned up 45 minutes late and we almost missed our flight home to London, we had a very stressful journey to the airport, so either book with plenty of time ahead or just get a cab yourself...All in all, I would not stay here again, I would look for another hotel in this location though. But, it was very reasonable price-wise, so cannot really complain too much...definitely 'average'.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Suzanne B:

Thank you for sharing your review. I always enjoy hearing from our guests and I am glad to hear your partner enjoyed our breakfast and that you found our location to be convenient for your activities while in the city. I must apologize for the incident with our front desk and the unfortunate service from the car service. I have taken your comments to our team and we will use a different service moving forward. The next time you have the chance to travel to the area I do hope that you will be our guest again. Thank you for your patronage.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good location, close to shopping and public transport. Many nice but expensive restaurants in the neighbourhood. Very friendly staff. Nice and rather tasty breakfast. Clean, well equipped but small rooms. Excellent maid service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mats M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayKumar54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Mats M,

We appreciate you staying at the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho. Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to know that our staff treated you well. I wanted to mention that our agents are very knowledgeable about restaurants and different price categories within the area and we’ll be more than glad to assist with recommendations in the future. We hope to see you return and once again, thank you.

Regards,
Jatin Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ok, I must say I am so proud of myself for choosing this hotel for our trip!! This is an awesome Hampton Inn in NYC, and hotels in this city can be so hit or miss!

We scored free street parking in front on a holiday weekend, so we saved $70! They have a garage a block away you can park in. We wouldn't have known street parking was ok if it weren't for the great staff at this hotel! Michelle was so helpful!

The whole place is clean and they have a serene patio with a clear roof. Of course Hamptons have free Internet and breakfast! Our room was high up with a great view and we were impressed with the size!! Clean room! There are two elevators in the front.

I highly recommend this hotel and would return! It can get super crowded because of the nearby tunnel, but c'mon, it's Manhattan!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayKumar54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear islandgirl80,

We are very glad to hear that choosing our hotel made you proud; it makes us proud to hear that. It looks like you made the best out of the entire stay and we are glad that our staff members were able to help improve it. Thank you for recommending us and I got a feeling we’ll be seeing you soon, and we’ll be here looking to redeliver the satisfaction we guarantee!
Warm Regards,

Jatin Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amazing hotel, you will never think it is a hampton inn, friendly staff great service, easy access to the city. Clean rooms , you can see the city from the building , great price I mean all that you are looking for is here, I will definitely return to this beautiful location, I miss NYC already Im very satisfied !! thank you hampton inn !!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayKumar54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Anthony F,

Thank you for staying with our property at the Hampton Inn Soho. We appreciate the feedback that you took time out to share about your experience at our hotel. Looks to be that we delivered the hospitality you deserve and that we succeeded in getting you to want to return. We look forward to hosting your stay again!

Warm Regards,

Jatin Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We travelled as a group of two couples and did a lot of research before we booked our 5 night stay in this hotel.
Room was excellent on 18th floor with fantastic views of the empire state and chrysler buildings. Room was really clean, the bed was amazing, very large and very comfortable. Enjoyed the sunset on the roof terracce floor 19 and it was great to have a little outside space.
Complimentary breakfast was great , simple but enough to start the day with.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful going out of their way to help where necessary.
Would recommend that if you are flying home from JFK airport that you leave plenty of time to get there, especially at rush hour. Our taxi didn't turn up so with the kind help of the hotel manager we managed to flag one, trip to airport took 1 hour 20 mins not estimated 45 mins which was purely down to horrendous traffic.
Excellent hotel, would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1803 had a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayKumar54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear kathyandian,

We appreciate your decision in our hotel while you visited NYC. Thank you for the feedback as I’m certain it’ll be helpful for future guests. We are happy to hear both couples enjoyed their recent stay and that our staff was able to help you out during all of it. We hope to see you return in the near future.

Regards,
Jatin Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had to do business in the area and this hotel was the closest to my facility. The traffic in front of the hotel is terrible due to a tunnel so beware if you arrive anywhere around rush hour. The hotel is nice and quiet even with the traffic, Rooms are smaller than most hotels in the area. When I have business in the area I plan on staying at the same hotel. Food can be a block or two away, but the location of the hotel make it one of the better in SOHO.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCPDump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayKumar54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear TCPDump,

We thank you for staying at our Hampton Inn Soho property. We do apologize about the tunnel traffic but are glad to hear that regardless our hotel worked out according to your work travel. We would be more than happy to continue hosting your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Jatin Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#166 of 470 in New York City
1,479 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#315 of 470 in New York City
2,032 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#322 of 470 in New York City
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#153 of 470 in New York City
1,956 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#263 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#73 of 470 in New York City
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing