We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have an afternoon of free museums!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Biblical Art

Museum of Biblical Art
Ranked #415 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Have an afternoon of free museums!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my first visit here. Museum is free and they have free coat check and free audio guides. Can't beat the value because the exhibits are very well done and informative. Only two galleries, but I ended up spending nearly two hours here listening to all of the information on the audio guides.

If you're in the area, pair this with a visit to the American Folk Art Museum, another small, free museum a short walk away!

Helpful?
3 Thank mldev18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
525 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great find,no charge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful museum with no entrance fee. Not crowded, can actually see the exhibits. The Tiffany window exhibit marvelous. Worth a visit if you are in Columbus Circle- Time Warner area.

Helpful?
1 Thank gorlinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“overlooked gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have been to see several exhibits at MoBia. I forget why I went the first time, but I believe there was free admission so you didn't have anything to lose (although they do accept donations). I have been impressed with the level of curatorial skill, which I would put on par with major international museums. While the small exhibit space does restrict the amount you can see, there is usually a book-focused exhibit (showing off family trees, the binding process) as well as a more art-focused exhibit. I've also seen some people that seem to be contemplating the art for spiritual purposes, which you don't see in secular institutions. While I would point tourists to the Met first, I would recommend MoBIA for locals or somebody looking for something a bit different in their museum experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cecesimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Devotional Art of Tiffany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wow! A free museum and free listening devices to see some of Louis Comfort Tiffany's stained glass windows and art made for churches. A beautiful exhibit that takes about 45 min. from start to finish. Located on 61st and Broadway, a short walk from the Time Warner building at Columbus Circle.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem @ Columbus Circle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This tiny museum was the best find on my latest trip to NYC. There were 2 exhibits: The Adoration of the Magi by Bartolo di Fredi and Bookmaking in the Age of Gutenberg. Both excellent, small, good audio productions. FREE!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Biblical Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Biblical Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing