We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Diner Food”
Review of Scotty's Diner

Scotty's Diner
Ranked #196 of 13,822 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Classic Diner Food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The food was ok, will do the trick for filling the tank and it is reasonably priced for NYC. We went back a second time just because we loved the guys working there. They keep you amused....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank VrmtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    525
    124
    48
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice find!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I arrived into New York late and looked for a local diner for a bite. I was looking for a spot where the locals go. The concierge at the hotel recommended this diner 2 blocks away, and it was quite easy to find. The waiter recommended the corned beef sandwich which turned out to be excellent. Together with a cold beer, the cost of the meal was more than reasonable and was a good experience. I will certainly return. I aim to try the All Day Breakfast at some point in time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieMe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherman oaks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fast and delicious”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We came here twice. Good food, great service, not a great atmosphere because it is old but the people were interesting, the food was good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank latripshermanoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick, Easy, Friendly and Inexpensive”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Scotty's was a great place to start the day. The food is nothing fancy - just good and fast. Staff were very friendly and got you going in the morning! The coffe was great and there's lots of it. Prices are inexpensive. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the service and the food!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MillerHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a nice place to get decent breakfast. It was close to our hotel on 39th street, The Tuscany St Giles,

They serve all the usual stuff, waffles, eggs, toast, etc and i enjoyed their waffles.

The service was also very good. The only minor complaint that i have is that from where we were seated i could see a bit of the kitchen and it wasn't very tidy (again, maybe i 'm not reviewing the kitchen!)

Overall, I'll recommend this restaurant to anyone within the neighborhood but Pershing Square cafe opposite the Grand station was better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Diner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Scotty's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing