We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst breakfast ever”

Palace Restaurant Coffee House
Ranked #1,531 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Midtown
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“worst breakfast ever”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

my eggs wasn't cooked properly so i asked if they could be done again and the staff was so unfriendly but he did take it away and brought it back but it didnt look like he did anything so in the end he did bring me another one all together but he made me feel as if he just wanted me to leave. i felt so unwelcomed at this restaurant not a nice experience at all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lahh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    67
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good dining experience”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My family were on a short vacation from England, and my wife and i have visited the USA many times and very rarely have we had a bad meal in a diner, however the Palace was not good at all.

The food was dry, undercooked, and quite expensive for what it was. Also, when the waiter presented the cheque he also gave us a piece of paper with what he thought the tip should be, which was way above what i thought they should get frankly.

I wouldn't dine there again, and cannot recommend it to visitors.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank backbeat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never fails!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

EVERY time i go to NYC this is my ultimate favorite place for a home cooked breakfast. Service is always excellent!! Im considered a local and the minute i walk through the door they have my coffee ready for me! They have great eggs benedict and the french toast is absolutely yumster!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoateng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, plenty of space, family friendly”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stumbled on this place at the end of a long day of sightseeing and walking with cranky 1 year old in tow. We weren't sure what to expect but we all got a solid-to-great meal, well prepared and quick, which none of us could finish. Portabello salad with grilled chicken featured some very good house dressing that I could tell was homemade. Similar with my 9 year old's bolognese sauce. Wife's oregano roast chicken was good too. Reasonable prices for Manhattan at 13-16 bucks per entree. Just the respite we needed from the insanity of 5th Avenue during holiday season!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stayed at the Renaissance 57, breakfasted at the Palace!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friendly service, typical American breakfast, gorgeous eggs over easy!! And lots of piping hot coffee. Great prices too for New York.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Restaurant Coffee House also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Palace Restaurant Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing