We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, high prices”
Review of Petite Abeille

Petite Abeille
Ranked #1,742 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cape Town
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average food, high prices”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We met friends here who live near to the restaurant. We sat inside to avoid street noise but still had to shout into each other's ear. Service was friendly and nice, but the food was ALL quite mediocre (together, we had French onion soup, chicken casserole, stripline steak, the waffle with Orios). The steak was done well, must say. The beer selection was as you expect in a Belgian restaurant, I found it a little expensive ($7 - 9 per glass).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    83
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just had pastries and coffee”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place was a little intimidating for a single woman traveling alone. So I just got a croissant and coffee with my coupon from the Chelsea Inn. It was good. A hopping place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good for lunch, noisy for dinner, even outside”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The selection is good, prices relatively reasonable, the service is good. It's pleasant for lunch with its Belgian menu, but in the evening, it can be very noisy and crowded. Nice is you like that scene, not if you don't

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulyJ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Breakfast Perfection in Chelsea”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

After going to the highly recommended " Cafeteria" a few blocks away, and having a horrible experience, this was a treat. We were meeting some friends at their room in the Chelsea Inn, and popped in the Petite Abeille for a coffee. This place is no frills however it is clean, simple, efficient, and most importantly, the omlettes were GREAT! You might say, "how can you screw up an omlette?" Trust me, many places do. This place does it right the first time. If you need a quick bite... This little place should do the trick.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed next door at the Chelsea Inn. We had brunch and dinner here. Food is well-priced and the staff are friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petite Abeille also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Petite Abeille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing