We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Special rate available
Booking.com
$239
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$239
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
$239
Fully refundable before Wed, May 29
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Mary P
Boston, Massachusetts

An Oasis of Calm and Coolness in the City

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 3, 2019
This hotel was fabulous. Clean, cool, timely with their room cleaning, and we had a great view of the city even though we didn’t request it. Great blackout drapes if you want to use them. Every time we walked in it felt like the noise and hubub of the area just faded behind us and everything became very quiet. Rooms were quiet too, even though we had people on both sides of us. Also, it’s a fantastic location, just a couple of blocks from both plays we were seeing, and right on Restaurant Row!
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$161
  • Hotels.com
    $161
  • Algotels
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$220
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Priceline
    $220
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Fitness center
Booking.com
$181
$174
  • travelup.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Hotels.com
    $174
1.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premium King
Booking.com
$234
  • Hotels.com
    $249
  • Skyscanner.com
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $249
0.3 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $229
  • Skyscanner.com
    $190
  • Vio.com
    $236
2.6 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Deluxe Double-Double Room at the The Gallivant Times Square
Booking.com
$161
  • Priceline
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Skyscanner.com
    $142
0.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Paramount Hotel New York Time Lobby Fireplace
Booking.com
$144
$134
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Official Site
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $134
0.1 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Fitness center
Arlo SoHo Lobby and public space.
Booking.com
$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $229
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Official Site
    $229
2.7 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $146
  • Skyscanner.com
    $195
0.5 miles from Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Room service
Fitness center
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (6,723)
Filter reviews
6,723 results
Traveler rating
3,818
1,948
498
226
233
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,818
1,948
498
226
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york times square frosted glass great location every other day breakfast was included restaurant row buffet style family room modern hotel grab and go central location city break stayed here for nights sofa bed mini fridge would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,553 - 1,558 of 6,723 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2019

The Hotel Riu was not a cheap choice and we paid for breakfast to be included. The rooms weren't very big, the bathroom was nice although it was separated from the bedroom by frosted glass, which may not be to everyone's taste. The dining hall was extremely busy and one morning they told us we had to wait for the other members of our party before we could get a table. The food was OK, nothing to go mad about and after a few days, it became boring and we wondered whether we should have booked breakfast for six days rather than finding other places for breakfast. The staff were polite, the bell boys were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is a short walk from Time Square. We thought we had paid for the booking of the two rooms before we arrived but found that we had only reserved the rooms after giving a credit card; we then found that we were charged more due to taxes which we thought we had paid and a reception fee? Would recommend other people double check everything before they go as we booked through Booking.com only to find we did have hidden charges. The dining hall was very loud and chaotic and as so many tables were crammed in, this made it difficult to keep manouvering around to get to the buffet. There was another dining area which closed early so if you want a quieter dining experience, I would recommend setting your alarm to get there before they close. Outside was a food vendor who sold coffee as well, there were no facilities in the room for making coffee or tea, so if you are an early riser, you have to either find McDonalds or Starbucks or use the guy outside the front of the hotel for a coffee to wake you up as the restaurant and cafe does not open until 7am.

Room tip: Lifts took a long time due to the number of guests so we were glad we were on the 4th floor. Had problems using the key card in the lift.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vp662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2019

Dear vp662016,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us.

Although we are glad that you liked our helpful and friendly staff and our location a short walk from Times Square, it is a pity that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We are also sorry to hear you were unaware of our daily facility fee, which includes wifi, water on arrival in the room, use of the gymnasium and the luggage store. This is posted on all booking sites to inform guests before arrival and, for further clarification, we kindly ask you to contact your travel agent.

Your comments will be really helpful to keep improving our guests’ experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Riu Hotels & Resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Perfect location. Breakfast was brilliant. Enough to start your busy days. Loved it and will return. Amazing visit to New York. If you book transfers make sure you don't have a time limit as it can take hours getting through border control.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Family Theatre weekend stay in June 2019 - VERY convenient location/short walk to Mockingbird & Waitress shows. Hectic lobby with average Check In service (Unusual request for names/ birthdates of all guests). 27th Floor Room had sofa bed, great views and access to 26th Floor club (complimentary wine, soda) . Tub/ shower/ bathroom area is open to rest of room and shower glass enclosed = NO PRIVACY. Complementary Breakfast Buffet is convenient/expansive with "cafeteria style" service = No tipping/ drink assistance. Small Gym/fitness room. Good stay but will book elsewhere for better $500/night value and atmosphere.

Room tip: 26/27 th floor offer Club access
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MPH_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Dear MPH_AA,

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting our location in the heart of Manhattan.

We are sorry that we did not come up to your expectations in some regards, since we at RIU strive to provide a relaxed atmosphere to all our guests.

We take careful note of your comments to keep improving the quality of our services and facilities.

We hope to host you someday again at any of our worldwide hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza New York Times Square
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

Stayed at this hotel whilst visiting NYC. Brilliantly located in Hells Kitchen a 5 min walk from Times Sq. Rooms were good sized and very clean, lobby welcoming and a nice place to take a breather from the madness outside. Good breakfast included, everything you could ask for to fuel up for the day. Could be busy but get up 30 mins earlier and it was far quieter. We were able to walk to good tube stations, Times Square in 5 mins and even the Pier if you wanted to in about 20 mins.

Date of stay: May 2019
6  Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

Near subway, stones throw from Time Square and all major shows. Short walk from river.
Room very clean-great American large beds large step in shower, daily complementary water in room fridge. Breakfast large and adequate buffet. Charging stations in lobby and pleasant bar. In Hell's Kitchen vicinity with a variety of restaurants including Ethiopian! Lots of great bars to sit at with charging points so people could meet and work. We need that here.
Complementary baggage store.
Primarily location location location.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews