We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great NY bagel experience.”
Review of Absolute Bagels

Absolute Bagels
Ranked #24 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great NY bagel experience.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Sunday morning & line is out the door -- a good sign you gave picked the right bagel shop. Efficient team moves things along -- enough time inside to have the order finalized by time you get to the counter. Also get to hear families eating in play math ges with kids over breakfast.

Baker's dozen & four small containers of cream cheese to go. Mission accomplished. If two of you go together, one can get fresh fruit at grocery next door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    96
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good, but maybe not the best”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I ordered an everything bagel with eggs and bacon. It tasted alright. However it may not be the "best bagel" I've tasted. It may not be worth traveling all the way up north to taste the bagel, but it makes a good breakfast place if you are staying in the area.

Helpful?
Thank kooifei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average in every aspect.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say anything good or bad about this place. Everything was ok. Nothing special, either good or bad. The bagels were ok, the cheese and roast beef were ok, the service was fine. It was a bit expensive, and they charge extra for vegetables, and even more for cheese.
I think they put too much cream cheese, but I guess it's a matter of personal taste.
Can't see myself returning for an 'ok' bagel...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gil_fruchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Without making this too complicated - Absolute Bagels make the BEST bagels in town.
Crisp outside and (always) warm and soft, yet not gooey, inside. Sounds simple, but it's not.
We buy bagels only there and at least once a week.
I will say, however, that service is NOT their best suit and that we never buy there anything else but bagels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelguyNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pretty much agree with everyone else, best bagels”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Absolute Bagels had exactly what you’d expect from a NYC bagel – perfectly warm, soft, but not too chewy bagels with a large variety of cream cheeses and lox. I had a sesame bagel with walnut & raisin cream cheese and it easily trumped any Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Bruggers bagels I’ve ever had. Keep in mind, there will be a line of Columbia University kids (especially on the weekends) and it is CASH ONLY. And of course, only in New York, you have to pay an extra 10 cents to have your bagel toasted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew_s_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absolute Bagels also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Absolute Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing