We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Save The Village Tours
Ranked #369 of 732 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Greenwich Village walking tours like no other! See where history was recorded by the original Village Voice photographer Fred W. McDarrah - the most curious, knowledgeable and indefatigable chronicler of the New York downtown scene over the second half of the 20th century! Each walker gets a keepsake multi-postcard set of classic McDarrah images and the tours go to the same locations.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

Informative and entertaining. Tim McDarrah brings his father's iconic photographs to life by telling his tour group the story behind the photos and showing them the exact spots where they were taken. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, Owner at Save The Village Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thanks for the kind - and accurate! - words. Hope to see you on another one of the tours soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"village voice"
in 8 reviews
"bob dylan"
in 7 reviews
"gay rights"
in 4 reviews
"photos taken"
in 3 reviews
"greenwich village"
in 12 reviews
"walking tour"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"new york"
in 3 reviews
"insight"
in 7 reviews
"stonewall"
in 2 reviews
"photographs"
in 16 reviews
"neighborhood"
in 4 reviews
"politics"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 14 reviews
"guide"
in 10 reviews
"art"
in 3 reviews
"perspective"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2017

I did the artist and east village tours with Tim as my guide , both tours were great, and giving me more insight in to my favourite part of New york the east village, taking me to places i would not have seen. Tim was a great guide, lots of information, and the pictures you get to keep are great, didnt have time to do the Bob Dylan tour, next year Tim!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank pierreoljanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, Owner at Save The Village Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks for that. Two tours down and two to go! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Tim gave us a great tour. We loved it. Learned a lot. We loved it. We would definitely recommend it. The village was great.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dialoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

these tours provide an insight into the constantly changing neighborhood, highlighting what remains of its history, not always in plain sight. pictures by photographer fred mcdarrah are provided to help lift the veil.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank waverlymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, Owner at Save The Village Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thanks for your thoughtful, kind and accurate words. Enjoyed having you on the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the Save the Village Tour and learned a great deal about the history of Greenwich Village. I've been a New Yorker my entire life and live in Chelsea, and still found it informative. The tour makes you aware of how much the Village has changed and evolved. I loved the tidbits of facts and photos taken by our tour guide's father. I highly recommend this tour even if you think you already know about the Village; you will learn more. The distance covered by the tour isn't too great and it moves at a nice relaxed pace.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmy505, Owner at Save The Village Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Thanks for the kind words. Yes, New York is always changing and there's always more to learn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Save The Village Tours also viewed

 

Been to Save The Village Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing