We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ess-a-Bagel

Ess-a-Bagel
Ranked #39 of 443 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Description: Consistently rated the best Bagel in New York and possibly the US. Run by the same family of bakers for 40 years.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I wanted to love Essa sooooo badly! I had heard such great things from friends that I walked a mile to find it.

You enter this old school bakery and the menu is endless. I ordered my favorite everything bagels and a breakfast bagel. The cream cheese is good and they give you a lot of it but the eggs were really watery and fell apart in my mouth without chewing. It was such a strange texture. The bagels themselves were huge but they lacked that crunchy chewy crust that I love so much. Also, they skimp on the toppings-- the bottom of the bagel doesn't have any fixings so it's really like eating a half everything/ half plain bagel and plain bagels are not my favorite. They also don't put sea salt in their everything mix which is really lacking for flavor.

Not the best..

Oh and the walnut brownie is terrible

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank diddleydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    170
    39
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
191 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not the NYC bagel I was hoping for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

After a long absence from The City, I was more than excited to have a "real" bagel. Hubby walked over and brought them back to or hotel for breakfast in bed. Sadly they were just ok, not much bagel chewiness and a not very good quality lox.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rupacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Bagel in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

You will not find anything better anywhere. Period. Just be prepared to wait (outside) in a long line.

Helpful?
Thank Travelavel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only in NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Real boiled bagels, not the bread-y stuff you get west of the Hudson. (OK, there are one or two delis in Chicago. Maybe.) Lox (Nova) was delicious. Extremely generous with an excellent cream cheese.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jacques, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good bagels, crappy attitude!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sure, the bagels, the many flavors of cream cheese and the variety of combinations are really good and worth trying.... But I can't get used to this NYC attitude... I mean would it be so freakin' difficult to say "next PLEASE" instead of shouting "Next, Come on hurry up"? Would it cost you you job to smile a little, to look at me when I'm ordering in YOUR restaurant, and say THANK YOU when you're giving me the change for all the food that I bought in your restaurant? Loose the attitude please...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Misterbobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ess-a-Bagel also viewed

 

Been to Ess-a-Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing