We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good bagel, not a friendly staff”
Review of Ess-a-Bagel

Ess-a-Bagel
Ranked #43 of 387 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Consistently rated the best Bagel in New York and possibly the US. Run by the same family of bakers for 40 years.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Very good bagel, not a friendly staff”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The bagels were definitively very good. The staff, however, got quite impatient with my husband's indecision in choosing his bagel. I know that they are new yokers and new yorkers are always in a hurry, but I would have been happier if the staff understand that not all customers know all of bagel, spreads and fillings options by heart.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    172
    39
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“STILL THE BEST”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Buying bagels here for over 15 years the quality never changes...always a great bagel. Always fresh product being prepaired and sold...lots of variety. Grab and bagel with lox or anything else any you will not be disappointed. Get some to take home...they freeze well ( Cut in half before freezing) they stay fresh this way for months (For all of us who no longer live in the city)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alkatcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bagels almost too big to eat!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Huge bagels, plenty of choices, nice warm atmosphere. Ate breakfast here nearly every day and could usually eat only half a bagel... saved the other half for lunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fieldsfivedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love one now !”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

In our never-ending search for the best bagel in New York, we ended up at Ess-a-bagel. Well we need not search any longer ! The variety of bagels and the choice of fillings was amazing. The old world atmosphere was beautiful and enhanced by Abe walking up and down checking that everyone was ok. Definitely a must go to in NY ! My mouth is watering just writing this review !

Helpful?
Thank Ivan_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bagel. The end.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I had no issue with the service and a man was in there having a lovely conversation with the clerk. The bagels are good - a bit
Fluffy for my tastes but authentic and delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ess-a-Bagel also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ess-a-Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing