We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for Sunday Brunch”
Review of Barmarche - CLOSED

Barmarche
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Elizabeth
Transit: 6 Train to Spring St N/R to Prince St B/D/F to Broadway/Lafayette St J/M/Z to Bowery
UK
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place for Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A very small restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere. The brunch menu was great and the service was unobtrusive and friendly and perfect for a Sunday lunchtime.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great eggs Benedict for Sunday brunch”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had an excellent brunch here last week and will most certainly visit again. The food, eggs benedict and eggs Mexicana, was really good and helped by the glass of prosecco or two. Service was also good, although there weren't many people there for then to get it wrong.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank pvdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too expansive for chat it is”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

A bit of Paris bistro atmosphère but there it would be cheaper and you would have way more choice on the menu. First red wine 48$ for basic Pinot Noir from California!
Full of teenagers. A nice touch but over rated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesend
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice food and good atmosphere”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We are over from the UK for a holiday visiting a friend. She booked this restaurant for her 40th birthday celebrations. The restaurant is very small but has a great atmosphere. The food really was lovely although not a great deal of choice. We had booked a cake as a surprise for her but the waiter mucked it all up by giving us the desert menus – we had to say something and our friend guessed! The cake was really expensive and not at all what we expected it was tiny and had a horrible taste. Would I recommend this restaurant, yes I would as the experience overall was very positive?

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al_Gravesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quintessential SOHO spot”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I’ve eaten here multiple times over the past 5 years and have never been disappointed. The bartenders (all great) have come & gone over the past several years but the drink recipes they created have endured and are top notch. The Bloody Mary is highly recommended as is the mix alone. They used to have a cucumber martini that was superior, its not on the menu anymore but they now have some innovative modifications on this martini – all were good. The dinner menu has remained top notch, I understand the original chef has since moved on to the ‘Cafeteria’ restaurant, but Barmarche’s dinner menu and quality have endured – the food was excellent – the soup was perfectly made – not too salty, the risotto was fluffy and flavorful, the ‘tacquitos’ remain excellently prepared – not greasy with just the right balance of ingredients to keep you wanting more even when you’ve finished the serving – as a complete dinner or appetizer. The portions were sufficient, I usually get my dessert elsewhere for variety reasons but their dessert menu looked just as appetizing. The atmosphere here is quintessential SOHO – cozy and intimate – it’s a small space and can get crowded fast but this is simply to be expected on a weekend or early evening given the location. This is one of my all time favorite places for innovative quality martinis – they use quality alcohol and the creations are of the highest craftsmanship.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indibnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barmarche also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing