We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reacquainted with an old favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea

Sea
Ranked #8,406 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Reacquainted with an old favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been going here for years, but had not been in almost 4 years. It was just like we remembered it though the area has experienced one heck of a growth spurt over the last 10 years! We ordered all of the appetizers and feasted. The sauces are spectacular and the food is always prepared to the highest quality. Desserts were a pleasant surprise. SEA will not disappoint. Glad we got reacquainted with an old friend-SEA

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best Thai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hands down the BEST Thai spot in NYC. Absolutely love everything about it- the ambiance and decor, the candle lighting, the hip bar area.. the seating & the waitstaff make you really feel like you've been transported outside of nyc.. even their menu makes you yearn for a flight to Thailand. I've tried a bunch of apps & entrees, and nothing has ever disappointed. Great spot for any occasion... definitely check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYinFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had lunch here--very good Thai food and a fun atmosphere. Not very crowded so it must be more of a dinner place. We were with a bunch of people so we sat at a long table with benches--they weren't very comfortable so I would opt for a smaller table with chairs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gso-fcoanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai spot in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food, drinks, music and ambiance all make Sea a great place to go. I have been here several times and I always get the Volcanic chicken because it is delicious. It gets packed there on the weekends so make reservations. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsApple007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
520 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Stylish Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great location... in Billyburg thats getting hipper by the day. Restaurant is spacious with a little pool in the middle. Food is good with a good range on the menu.
We did have problems with a diet coke that was ordered- they brought something else- since its already poured into a glass and the container does not get to the table, it was dificult to identify what it was. On questioning it after tasting it, they did bring in a new glass with the right stuff. they however charged it twice on the bill. On questioning the bill, they did remove one.
Overall it was a good experience though.. they just need some fine-tuning and attention to detail.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing