We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal in charming setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of bobo

bobo
Reserve with OpenTable
bobo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,842 of 13,477 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 7th Avenue South
Transit: 1 train to Christopher St.-Sheridan Sq. and A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to W. 4th St.-Washington Sq.
Description: bobo is a farm-to-table restaurant and cocktail bar located in a century old townhouse in Greenwich Village serving dinner nightly and brunch on the weekends.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good meal in charming setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant was good. That's it. No overwhelming superlatives - just good.

My husband and I went for our 11th anniversary while he was in the City for business. The setting is extremely charming. The service was, well, good. The food (we split the beef tartare app, I got the scallops and my husband got the pork) was - you guessed it - good. Not exceptional or inspiring, but definitely a tasty meal that was well-executed.

I guess I was hoping for more based upon the reviews and the prices. Nothing to complain about, it just was good.

One thing that was exceptionally delicious - their mixed drink "The Bobo."

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T. Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    59
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“West Village at it's best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

In NYC for only 36 hours, we stumbled upon this lovely townhouse restaurant to enjoy some west village vibe after dinner drinks. We couldn't resist the basement cellar feel. Once inside the setting was dark, quaint, and intimate. the carra marble bar top was luxurious. The cocktails are reasonable if you consider that they are all made with top shelf liquor. I can't wait to go back! I will be sure to make an evening out of bobo nyc restaurant with dinner reservations to start and cellar bar to finish. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming Greenwich Village Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Going to this restaurant always feels special because of the the brownstone location. Originally, a couple of stylish friends who are originally from France suggested this restaurant. The food is an assortment of classic French dishes that always seem fresh and appropriate to the season. This restaurant has become one of my go-to restaurants when I want to get together with friends in a setting that feels homey but sophisticated. Every friend I've ever taken here has loved this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have never been to a better restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Having been in hospitality for many years, I can appreciate a great location when I find one - and this is definitely one!

The food gave me goosebumps, the service was perfect and the restaurant looked and felt exceptional.

You are guarenteed to have a wonderful time here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic, charming, and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

French country with a kitch twist, chandeliers, fireplace and some great wallpapers. Environment is rich, service is excellent and food is great. Extremely accommodating to dietary restrictions. The bass and the chicken were perfect. Excellent experience

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bobo also viewed

 

Been to bobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing