We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of bobo

bobo
Reserve with OpenTable
bobo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,848 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 7th Avenue South
Transit: 1 train to Christopher St.-Sheridan Sq. and A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to W. 4th St.-Washington Sq.
Description: bobo is a farm-to-table restaurant and cocktail bar located in a century old townhouse in Greenwich Village serving dinner nightly and brunch on the weekends.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Made reservations for our 34th anniversary and asked for a special booth upstairs my wife always loves to sit at and they said they would try to accommodate my request. We arrived about 45 minutes early but the hostess said they would try to get our table ready as soon as they could and asked if we wanted to get a drink at the downstairs bar. The bar was packed, standing room only so the hostess noticing that i felt it was too crowded suggested a small, upstairs, very intimate bar that seats only 6. It was lovely and we received special attention from the bartender due to the bar being so intimate and it was our anniversary. They were able to seat us early and in my wife's favorite corner booth and as always the dinner, wine, dessert and the service was perfect. It is so special to spend a evening where feel as if you are the only customer, where service is most important, bobo is amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    59
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Charming place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We can't believe that we have walked by this place many times, and never really noticed it. We entered down the steps into the charming cozy bar, but then went upstairs to the dining room. It was not busy at 7PM when we went there, and did fill up a bit as we sat in the pretty dining room. It could have been noisy under other circumstances, but we did not experience that. The dining room looks like a lovely Greenwich village townhouse from another era, romantic and warm. The waitstaff is efficient, friendly and helpful without being hovering. THe menu was small and fairly basic, so if you are looking for exciting new dishes, this may not be your place. My date had steak frites and I had the special mussels, which were divine in a cream, white wine, and tarragon sauce. Wine list was also fairly short, but with interesting offerings and not a huge markup. All in all, a real find that we would visit again, and not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wywyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great in everything but the noise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by another spot whose kitchen had just closed. The food was great, drinks were awesome, and the waitstaff was super. The only drawback was the music was simply too loud. I would still go back.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run, Don't Walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Walking down the steps from atop the sidewalk tells you this location has been there awhile.
The ambiance both downstairs in the bar area as well as upstairs is like to trip to great find in Burgundy or Provence! Stunningly quaint while elegant and soothing. We were hoping the experience itself was as dramatic. It was far more! One of the best fine dining experiences in every regard that we have had in our many years of traveling internationally. Being in the wine business ( winery owners in Sonoma County) has made us somewhat dificult to impress but we were in short, BLOWN AWAY! To top it off, the staff was as nice as they were professional and efficient. Can't wait to get back to NYC and we will run to get there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place for relaxed early evening drinks and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I went with a friend for Friday night drinks. Good selection of wine and a buzzy but civilised atmosphere. Great place to start the evening. We actually got through rather more wine than anticipated and ended up staying for dinner as we had missed our dinner reservation elsewhere. We had delicious burgers and the chips were good too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bobo also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to bobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing