We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service good, food average”
Review of bobo

bobo
Reserve with OpenTable
bobo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,023 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 7th Avenue South
Transit: 1 train to Christopher St.-Sheridan Sq. and A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to W. 4th St.-Washington Sq.
Description: bobo is a farm-to-table restaurant and cocktail bar located in a century old townhouse in Greenwich Village serving dinner nightly and brunch on the weekends.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service good, food average”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Mt up with a friend for brunch and made the mistake of getting the brunch menu. Unfortunately this comes with more liquid then food - a cocktail, a juice, a tea/coffee and then a plate of eggs or a sandwich. All the drinks arived together, so the tea gets cold, whilst drinking the rest. Don't get the Bobo Mary - almost impossible to drink as so alcoholic!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    61
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excelent gourmet food.”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

There are a lot of good reataurants around the Village and this is one of the best one. We tasted several of the appetaizers and found them delicious. I had the salmon and it was the best salmon y have ever had. The same for the accompaning potatos. We were three at the table and every one enjoyed its main dish. The service was excellent and the price reasonable for the quality. Owner Carlitos has done a good job.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected New York Experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

I spend a lot of time on business in New York, and frequent restaurants in the West Village, but had never heard of Bobo. I was looking for a new place to eat on a recent weekday evening and just sort of stumbled into Bobo. Bobo's entrance is down a flight of stairs from thE street and easy to miss.

I was alone and when I walked into the noisy bar I had second thoughts. But a friendly hostess led me upstairs to the main dining room which was virtually empty at 6:30. For the next 45 minutes I had a helpful and friendly server almost to myself. I started with a delightful asparagus salad and tried the special cow au vin for an entree. It's wasn't the best coq au vin ever, but the chicken was fall-off-the-bone tender and thoroughly enjoyable. The evening was topped off by a friendly visit from the owner. I will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great NYC experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was my first time in NYC and this place captures the essence of what New York and the Village is all about. Beautiful decor, beautiful people, beautiful food. You access this place by walking down a set of stairs, greeted by a bustling bar scene and walk up a narrow flight of stairs to the restaurant. Very quaint, great decor, attentive staff, our server was great and knowledgeable about the food choices and menu. The appetizers were generoulsy sized and super tasty, and the main entree was really delicious, also generous portions, I had the sea bass, very nicely done; my friends had the duck and couldn't stop raving about it.Lovely experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirchen, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly French toast”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Reviews of Bobo aren't exactly positive - but I really can't see what the negative reviews would be based on. Met friends for brunch on a Saturday morning, great ambiance, friendly service, excellent coffee and food (which comes with tiny pieces of cake and grapes as a nice surprise amuse bouche). OK, it's not exactly cheap, but definitely worth it - one of the best places in NY for a relaxing start into the weekend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anjarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bobo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to bobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing