We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very loud” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morandi

Morandi
Reserve with OpenTable
Morandi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #561 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Village
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I dined at Morandi with 3 friends (2 women and 1 young man). While the food was good, you basically had to read lips to understand what anyone was saying. It was extremely difficult to carry on a conversation. Also my friend and I split 2 entrees and the waiter only brought one. The service was like that the entire meal. Very lackadaisical - we were basically an after thought. Would not go back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    166
    50
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been to Morandi several times before and were always pleased. Yesterday we went there for lunch and the food was disgusting. Not just average. Disgusting. Has the chef changed? We started with a fava bean salad which as usual was great (fava, pecorino, mint, basil). But then we had a disgusting linguini with clams which was a bit like an eastern european version of pasta - very little pasta and masses of sauce. There was about 1/3 the amount of pasta required and 3x too much sauce. And to say the sauce was greasy is like saying Fox News is slightly conservative..My wife had a seafood kebab, which was simply unedible. Graying, limp pieces of fish and what seemed like reheated "long time no sea" shrimps and assorted other tired pieces of seafood reluctantly pressed into action on the skewer. Disgusting. Hopefully the manager will read this and post an explanation, otherwise we will not return. As eveybody knows, there are other Italian restaurants in NY...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Honestreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Morandi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a busy place with quick but not always accurate service. We had an appetizer platter and two pasta dishes as well as a cheese plate we didn't order but we ate it thinking it was our appetizer platter. The food was tasty but we were put off when a cockroach climbed the wall at the table beside us. The staff were quick to deal with it but we had to call them back as they didn't quite capture the critter the first time. Otherwise our only complaint is that the servers didn't check on whether we enjoyed the food which would have me say they are really too busy to offer attentive service. The restaurant is quite noisy, tables are very close together so I wouldn't recommend it for an intimate dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were recommended this bistro by locals we chatted with while waiting on a subway platform. It was exactly what we were looking for - great atmosphere, decent wine list, delicious food and fast and friendly service. We were there for a late lunch (3pm?) and loved the food and wine. The three of us shared the grilled artichokes, prosciutto-wrapped breadsticks (prob least favourite), the cheese platter (most favourite!), the meat platter, a bowl of herbed olives and nice crusty bread. So good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yukimi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A nice location but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch outdoors at Morandi two days ago. The server, who was delightful and handsome, came right away. He was the highlight of this luncheon. The food was average- orchetti and spinach ravioli. The ravioli sauce was a bit thin. After our food arrived we had a hard time getting refills and our bill. I suspect this was just an off day, as this restaurant seems quite busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morandi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing