We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in NYC”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Location in NYC”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I recently stayed at this B&B for a week in their basement apartment. The location in the heart of the active West Village was perfect. So many restaurants, shops, clubs, subways, and attractions nearby. The apartment was great, perfect for one or two people. Very clean and well appointed. The WiFi worked great, which was important to me. Check in was easy as all I had to do was pick up my keys from the owners' nearby restaurant (Doma) and let myself in. As a part of staying in the house you get $5.00 off breakfast each day at Doma. I really enjoyed the restaurant as well. Good food, nice atmosphere. Since their bigger parlor apartment was vacant while I was there the owners' offered me a free upgrade to that apartment. I opted to stay where I was as I was very comfortable there. I thought it was a nice thing for them to do anyway. Even though the Village is a very busy place, the apartment was very quiet. I will definitely go back there again on my next trip to NYC if available. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a real NYC live in experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We have just got back from a 5 Night stay in NYC. We stayed at the Jones Street Guesthouse and I just thought it was necessary to post a review to say how excellent it was.
We did a lot of research before deciding to stay here. We were looking for a real New York experience and we certainly got that. The room and building as a whole was exactly what we were after. Warm and comfortable with all the necessary kitchen equipment and really homely. Comfortable bed (no bed bugs) and very clean throughout.
Noise wasn't an issue, in fact we enjoyed the little creaks and gurgles the house seemed to make at night.
We didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back.

Thanks to Evelyn and her family.

P

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesCAddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My second stay at this wonderful spot in the West Village. The location is perfect, public transportation, walking, taxis all convenient to anyplace in Manhattan. While the hosts are absent, they are easy to reach and remarkably accommodating. The rooms are a great size for the price, and the amenities make it a place that you never have to leave, or not until the next lucky guest arrives.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had such a wonderful time and a big part of that was having a cozy, friendly, comfortable place to stay in between adventures all over Manhattan. A few blocks from subway - a few steps from everything else (great food, great music, great parks ...) Evelyn was exceptionally accommodating. The bed was comfy (and no bedbugs!)
ONLY minus - no microwave! With so much good food we frequently had leftovers - or it would also be good for warming up cold coffee. It was a really noticeable absence. Besides that everything was perfect and I only can hope to return yearly (that is our plan!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMB2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the first floor apartment for 6 nights in September 2010 and we had a brilliant time. We collected the keys from Doma (the owner's restaurant - where we also had a breakfast of coffee and a croissant everyday, included in the price) without any problems. The apartment was clean and really tastefully decorated. It was well equipped and we intended to cook some meals (with ingredients from the fantastic local shops) while we were there, but in reality there were so many interesting restaurants in the streets surrounding the apartment that we ended up eating out most nights. The bed was really comfortable. Desite the centrality of the apartment, it wasn't noisy and I slept really well. I would happily recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Revell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

A wonderful Village experience. Staying here was a delight. We were fortunate enough to luck into being able to use the owners' space. It is not the same as staying at a hotel but that is precisely why we tried here.

It was truly as if we were living there - Bleeker Street has all the amenities needed - Amy's Bread and the cheese shop next door are highly rated by us.

We prefer not to stay at the same place twice in our travels - in New York that habit will change.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mjb_lmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We just got back and are already talking about wanting to visit nyc again. We would definitely go back to Jones Street Guesthouse. The location was perfect! We were so close to tons of shopping and restaurants, and subways for the things that weren't in the neighborhood. The first floor apt. was very cozy, and we usually came back for a dark, quiet afternoon nap. Noise was not a problem, and we liked the occasional rumble of the subway (it reminded us we were in the city!) The recommendations were helpful, and breakfast at Doma was delicious (try the pumpkin bread). The price made it possible for us to stay in a great neighborhood for a week instead of just a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalarufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 466 in New York City
590 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#146 of 466 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#185 of 466 in New York City
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#114 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 466 in New York City
880 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#325 of 466 in New York City
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Property: Jones Street Guesthouse
Address: 31 Jones St, New York City, NY 10014-4149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing