We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 76 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and daughter stayed in the ground floor room. It was lovely and clean, and the location was brilliant. The food at Doma was lovely too with really friendly staff.

The bed was wonderfully comfortable. We will be definitely be coming back :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabeanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here the weekend of the NYC Marathon. If you were seeking a hotel anywhere in Manhattan that weekend, you would have run into 5 night minimums for rooms that were $300+, but my fiance looked under B&Bs and found this little gem. We rented the Parlour Apartment (1st floor - which means you go down the stairs into the building and then up the stairs to the first floor). The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good sized and the shower had great pressure. There is a kitchen with a stove and fridge if you need them. It is a short walk to the Christopher Street subway station.

The neighborhood was great - there were 2 record stores, Big Gay Ice Cream and a gelato place, stuffed bagel balls, a couple of dive bars at either end of the street, and many other options.

The owner also has a cafe that is only a short walk away called Doma na Rohu, which was excellent for brunch.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maurinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is not a hotel and not really a B&B. You have your own apartment, and beside cleaning service, you are pretty much on your own.

The breakfast part is a discount on the nearby café which we hardly used after we realized there are funkier places around the corner.

The apartment is huge. No way else to describe it. It's tastefully designed with a cool vintage vibe, although, taking that you are on almost street level (we had the 1st floor), this isn't the quietest room.

The location is unbeatable. It's the coolest, most pleasant neighborhood in NYC. For the price we paid (260$) it's an amazing deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are much much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn P, Owner at Jones Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Just a note -- these folks stayed on the parlor apartment, or second floor, not the first floor. This is sometimes confusing for folks from other countries, but we call the first floor the one you enter on ground level, and the one you walk up to the second floor. As for it being better -- it is a little more grand feeling and light-filled, and thus a bit more expensive. But many of our positive reviews are for the first floor apartment. The benefit of that apartment is also that the bed is at the back of the studio apartment, so it could be a bit quieter for sleeping. But of course it's all subjective! New Yorkers would find our street extremely quiet except sometimes on Fri or Sat night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Almost a week in New York at Evelyn and Michael's Jones Street Guesthouse. Comfortable bed, lovely atmosphere and a bathroom with space. Breakfast at Doma Na Rohu set us up well each day. The location is wonderful with great food and interesting shops and entertainment in all directions. We walked the High Line, went to Blue Note one night and walked and walked. When not walking the subway uptown to the museums and galleries was good. Evelyn's notes are a must to read well. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed returning to our basement apartment each night. Noise was not a problem. Thank you! We do hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harobed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation topped off a perfect week in NYC. First time visitors to this great city, this was the perfect location, a vibrant village atmosphere with loads of food and beverage options, not too far from anything and perfectly positioned between uptown and downtown. We stayed in the parlor apartment which was very comfortable and functional. Having the cleaners come in every second day was a bonus. Others have noted noise as an issue but it wasn't for us, it's no worse than you'd expect of an inner city location. Thank you Evelyn for sharing your home, we will most certainly be back. Oh and the salmon bagel at Doma for breakfast is exceptional, will review separately.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mkc2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from the 20th September 2013 until the 26th September 2013.

We stayed in the first floor apartment and were absolutely delighted with our choice.

The owner Evelyn was exceptional at communicating to us from the booking we made in June 2013. She answered all of our emails quickly and thoroughly. This gave us no doubt that this was the place to stay.

Prior to even travelling Evelyn emailed us an extremely comprehensive guide. That covers everything you could possibly need. Whether you are a first time visitor to New York, like us, or an experienced traveller.

The best way to get from JFK airport in our opinion is to get the Air Train to Jamaica Station. Once there you will need to purchase a ticket for the Long Island Railroad (LIRR) to Pennsylvania Station. The ticket will include the air train fee and the LIRR fee. It cost us $12 each. Once you are at Pennsylvania station get on the DOWNTOWN number 1 train to Christopher Street. All told this should take around 45 minutes.

Collection of the keys is simplicity itself a short walk to Evelyn’s excellent restaurant secures the keys. Followed by an even shorter walk to the apartment itself.
Evelyn’s restaurant Doma Na Rohu is wonderful. For breakfast you have to try the Babichka…Oh my word when you’re eating it you will overjoyed with it.

The location of the apartment is excellent. Within ten minutes of being in the apartment my wife unpacked and I returned with provisions. Pizza from John’s and red wine from a Liquor Store.
Everything you need is within easy access and your stay in New York is will be so much better for staying here.

Evelyn, thank you very much for letting us stay and looking after us. Jim and Lissa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiroorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the main floor apartment on August 29 and 30th for a short New York city stay, prior to a family wedding in New Jersey. The apartment was cutely decorated and clean, tucked in the fun West Village neighborhood. Although it is next door to a bar, only once did I hear vocal revelers walking by, for about 10 seconds. The air conditioner looked ancient but worked like a charm. The owner is friendly and very easy to work with and we got a $5 day credit to their restaurant a block away - Doma na Rohu, where we enjoyed a very tasty brunch. It is also a great spot for people watching in the neighborhood. The area is a very convenient base to the subway system and a nice mellow neighborhood of families, away from the frenetic Times Square area, for example. There are a ton of great and reasonably priced restaurants steps from the apartment. like Doma, John's Pizza, Murray's Cheese House, and Caravas Place for Gyro Sandwiches and Greek Salad. I would suggest the owners put in a small microwave oven to heat up the yummy leftovers from the surrounding restaurants. We had a short window and no time to cook using the range in the room. I would love to come back and stay here for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10000_Laker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Incentra Village Hotel
Incentra Village Hotel
#15 of 76 in New York City
158 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#9 of 76 in New York City
377 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#11 of 76 in New York City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 76 in New York City
377 reviews
Manhattan
Jumel Terrace Bed and Breakfast
Jumel Terrace Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 76 in New York City
8 reviews
The Park Ave North
#17 of 76 in New York City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Address: 31 Jones St, New York City, NY 10014-4149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing