We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is maybe the closest you'll ever get to feel like you actually living in the city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is not a hotel and not really a B&B. You have your own apartment, and beside cleaning service, you are pretty much on your own.

The breakfast part is a discount on the nearby café which we hardly used after we realized there are funkier places around the corner.

The apartment is huge. No way else to describe it. It's tastefully designed with a cool vintage vibe, although, taking that you are on almost street level (we had the 1st floor), this isn't the quietest room.

The location is unbeatable. It's the coolest, most pleasant neighborhood in NYC. For the price we paid (260$) it's an amazing deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are much much better
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn P, Owner at Jones Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Just a note -- these folks stayed on the parlor apartment, or second floor, not the first floor. This is sometimes confusing for folks from other countries, but we call the first floor the one you enter on ground level, and the one you walk up to the second floor. As for it being better -- it is a little more grand feeling and light-filled, and thus a bit more expensive. But many of our positive reviews are for the first floor apartment. The benefit of that apartment is also that the bed is at the back of the studio apartment, so it could be a bit quieter for sleeping. But of course it's all subjective! New Yorkers would find our street extremely quiet except sometimes on Fri or Sat night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Jones Street Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Almost a week in New York at Evelyn and Michael's Jones Street Guesthouse. Comfortable bed, lovely atmosphere and a bathroom with space. Breakfast at Doma Na Rohu set us up well each day. The location is wonderful with great food and interesting shops and entertainment in all directions. We walked the High Line, went to Blue Note one night and walked and walked. When not walking the subway uptown to the museums and galleries was good. Evelyn's notes are a must to read well. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed returning to our basement apartment each night. Noise was not a problem. Thank you! We do hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harobed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation topped off a perfect week in NYC. First time visitors to this great city, this was the perfect location, a vibrant village atmosphere with loads of food and beverage options, not too far from anything and perfectly positioned between uptown and downtown. We stayed in the parlor apartment which was very comfortable and functional. Having the cleaners come in every second day was a bonus. Others have noted noise as an issue but it wasn't for us, it's no worse than you'd expect of an inner city location. Thank you Evelyn for sharing your home, we will most certainly be back. Oh and the salmon bagel at Doma for breakfast is exceptional, will review separately.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mkc2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from the 20th September 2013 until the 26th September 2013.

We stayed in the first floor apartment and were absolutely delighted with our choice.

The owner Evelyn was exceptional at communicating to us from the booking we made in June 2013. She answered all of our emails quickly and thoroughly. This gave us no doubt that this was the place to stay.

Prior to even travelling Evelyn emailed us an extremely comprehensive guide. That covers everything you could possibly need. Whether you are a first time visitor to New York, like us, or an experienced traveller.

The best way to get from JFK airport in our opinion is to get the Air Train to Jamaica Station. Once there you will need to purchase a ticket for the Long Island Railroad (LIRR) to Pennsylvania Station. The ticket will include the air train fee and the LIRR fee. It cost us $12 each. Once you are at Pennsylvania station get on the DOWNTOWN number 1 train to Christopher Street. All told this should take around 45 minutes.

Collection of the keys is simplicity itself a short walk to Evelyn’s excellent restaurant secures the keys. Followed by an even shorter walk to the apartment itself.
Evelyn’s restaurant Doma Na Rohu is wonderful. For breakfast you have to try the Babichka…Oh my word when you’re eating it you will overjoyed with it.

The location of the apartment is excellent. Within ten minutes of being in the apartment my wife unpacked and I returned with provisions. Pizza from John’s and red wine from a Liquor Store.
Everything you need is within easy access and your stay in New York is will be so much better for staying here.

Evelyn, thank you very much for letting us stay and looking after us. Jim and Lissa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiroorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the main floor apartment on August 29 and 30th for a short New York city stay, prior to a family wedding in New Jersey. The apartment was cutely decorated and clean, tucked in the fun West Village neighborhood. Although it is next door to a bar, only once did I hear vocal revelers walking by, for about 10 seconds. The air conditioner looked ancient but worked like a charm. The owner is friendly and very easy to work with and we got a $5 day credit to their restaurant a block away - Doma na Rohu, where we enjoyed a very tasty brunch. It is also a great spot for people watching in the neighborhood. The area is a very convenient base to the subway system and a nice mellow neighborhood of families, away from the frenetic Times Square area, for example. There are a ton of great and reasonably priced restaurants steps from the apartment. like Doma, John's Pizza, Murray's Cheese House, and Caravas Place for Gyro Sandwiches and Greek Salad. I would suggest the owners put in a small microwave oven to heat up the yummy leftovers from the surrounding restaurants. We had a short window and no time to cook using the range in the room. I would love to come back and stay here for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10000_Laker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Jones St Guesthouse made my trip to NYC perfect! Best location for real New York life, surrounded by great food and music. I stayed in the Parlour Apartment which was ideal for a business/pleasure trip. Restored building was very special and immaculately clean. Close to subway, very easy to get taxis and free wifi. Thanks Evelyn!!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank aandd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the Parlor Apartment for seven nights recently as part of our nine week trip around the UK and the US. Jones Street was most definitely an accommodation highlight. We had already spent seven nights staying in midtown Manhattan, and wanted to move down to the West Village for a change of pace. We loved it so much than we actually ended up spending a bit of time in the room - there is so much to see and do in NYC, but it was really nice to have our own space as a bit of reprieve at the end of long days. We loved the furnishings, and the fact that we could make our own tea or coffee or lunch or dinner if we wanted to. We had quite a few hot days, and found that the air-con and fan worked well - but the windows also open so was great to be able to get a natural breeze. Others have mentioned the noise - it wasn't an issue for us - some nights it was quiet as a mouse, other nights were a bit noisier, but for us it was all part of the NYC experience. The guest house is located just off Bleeker Street, a fantastic street filled with shops and restaurants, and it's an easy walk to the West 4th Street subway station. We had breakfast every morning at Doma Cafe which was also really great, loved it. The other thing to note is that Yvonne sends a lengthy document once your booking is confirmed with HEAPS of local information, and info about the property - it's more than what you would get a five-star hotel, and is really valuable. Someone below mentions that basic toiletries aren't provided - this is true - but it's spelt out really clearly in the information online and that is sent when the booking is confirmed. This wasn't an issue for us, we bought our own toilet paper and travel with own toiletries anyhow. I would definitely stay here again.....writing about it is making me wish we were back there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#175 of 468 in New York City
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#110 of 468 in New York City
992 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#315 of 468 in New York City
947 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 468 in New York City
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Address: 31 Jones St, New York City, NY 10014-4149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing