We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great neighborhood ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation topped off a perfect week in NYC. First time visitors to this great city, this was the perfect location, a vibrant village atmosphere with loads of food and beverage options, not too far from anything and perfectly positioned between uptown and downtown. We stayed in the parlor apartment which was very comfortable and functional. Having the cleaners come in every second day was a bonus. Others have noted noise as an issue but it wasn't for us, it's no worse than you'd expect of an inner city location. Thank you Evelyn for sharing your home, we will most certainly be back. Oh and the salmon bagel at Doma for breakfast is exceptional, will review separately.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mkc2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from the 20th September 2013 until the 26th September 2013.

We stayed in the first floor apartment and were absolutely delighted with our choice.

The owner Evelyn was exceptional at communicating to us from the booking we made in June 2013. She answered all of our emails quickly and thoroughly. This gave us no doubt that this was the place to stay.

Prior to even travelling Evelyn emailed us an extremely comprehensive guide. That covers everything you could possibly need. Whether you are a first time visitor to New York, like us, or an experienced traveller.

The best way to get from JFK airport in our opinion is to get the Air Train to Jamaica Station. Once there you will need to purchase a ticket for the Long Island Railroad (LIRR) to Pennsylvania Station. The ticket will include the air train fee and the LIRR fee. It cost us $12 each. Once you are at Pennsylvania station get on the DOWNTOWN number 1 train to Christopher Street. All told this should take around 45 minutes.

Collection of the keys is simplicity itself a short walk to Evelyn’s excellent restaurant secures the keys. Followed by an even shorter walk to the apartment itself.
Evelyn’s restaurant Doma Na Rohu is wonderful. For breakfast you have to try the Babichka…Oh my word when you’re eating it you will overjoyed with it.

The location of the apartment is excellent. Within ten minutes of being in the apartment my wife unpacked and I returned with provisions. Pizza from John’s and red wine from a Liquor Store.
Everything you need is within easy access and your stay in New York is will be so much better for staying here.

Evelyn, thank you very much for letting us stay and looking after us. Jim and Lissa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiroorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the main floor apartment on August 29 and 30th for a short New York city stay, prior to a family wedding in New Jersey. The apartment was cutely decorated and clean, tucked in the fun West Village neighborhood. Although it is next door to a bar, only once did I hear vocal revelers walking by, for about 10 seconds. The air conditioner looked ancient but worked like a charm. The owner is friendly and very easy to work with and we got a $5 day credit to their restaurant a block away - Doma na Rohu, where we enjoyed a very tasty brunch. It is also a great spot for people watching in the neighborhood. The area is a very convenient base to the subway system and a nice mellow neighborhood of families, away from the frenetic Times Square area, for example. There are a ton of great and reasonably priced restaurants steps from the apartment. like Doma, John's Pizza, Murray's Cheese House, and Caravas Place for Gyro Sandwiches and Greek Salad. I would suggest the owners put in a small microwave oven to heat up the yummy leftovers from the surrounding restaurants. We had a short window and no time to cook using the range in the room. I would love to come back and stay here for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10000_Laker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Jones St Guesthouse made my trip to NYC perfect! Best location for real New York life, surrounded by great food and music. I stayed in the Parlour Apartment which was ideal for a business/pleasure trip. Restored building was very special and immaculately clean. Close to subway, very easy to get taxis and free wifi. Thanks Evelyn!!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank aandd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the Parlor Apartment for seven nights recently as part of our nine week trip around the UK and the US. Jones Street was most definitely an accommodation highlight. We had already spent seven nights staying in midtown Manhattan, and wanted to move down to the West Village for a change of pace. We loved it so much than we actually ended up spending a bit of time in the room - there is so much to see and do in NYC, but it was really nice to have our own space as a bit of reprieve at the end of long days. We loved the furnishings, and the fact that we could make our own tea or coffee or lunch or dinner if we wanted to. We had quite a few hot days, and found that the air-con and fan worked well - but the windows also open so was great to be able to get a natural breeze. Others have mentioned the noise - it wasn't an issue for us - some nights it was quiet as a mouse, other nights were a bit noisier, but for us it was all part of the NYC experience. The guest house is located just off Bleeker Street, a fantastic street filled with shops and restaurants, and it's an easy walk to the West 4th Street subway station. We had breakfast every morning at Doma Cafe which was also really great, loved it. The other thing to note is that Yvonne sends a lengthy document once your booking is confirmed with HEAPS of local information, and info about the property - it's more than what you would get a five-star hotel, and is really valuable. Someone below mentions that basic toiletries aren't provided - this is true - but it's spelt out really clearly in the information online and that is sent when the booking is confirmed. This wasn't an issue for us, we bought our own toilet paper and travel with own toiletries anyhow. I would definitely stay here again.....writing about it is making me wish we were back there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We rented the Parlour Apartment for 14 nights and loved our stay.
This studio apartment was spacious, with high ceilings and delightfully decorated with antique pieces, rugs, and prints, making us feel right at home. There was plenty of storage for our clothing, suitcases, and other travel things. The small kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed, also the bathroom, which was large enough to accommodate a bit of hand washing during our stay. Also an extremely comfortable bed!
Best of all, the location couldn't be more perfect, being right off Bleeker Street with it's many restaurants, and a short walk to 2 different subway stations. It was terrific to be able to arrive home after a long day walking New York, shower and just go out to eat right around the corner.
Evelyn and Michael were fantastic hosts, always friendly and helpful, and we also loved their restaurant for breakfast every day, and for a few dinners.
The area is quite noisy at night, being a hub for restaurants, but we had no trouble sleeping, even on warm nights we simply shut the main window, opened the bathroom window and put on the ceiling fan. There is also air conditioning for the hotter months.
A little gem in the heart of the West Village. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankieandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having been to NYC 3 times previously for extended visits, I was keen to stay in a less touristy area. Having been to visit more areas of Manhattan, The Village areas have always appealed the most, and we decided on staying in The Village and wanted something close to Bleeker Street.

Jones Street Guesthouse had such good reviews that we thought it was the place for us - and it was. The location is excellent - just off Bleeker and in a gorgeous street. Just a 5 minute walk to the subway and close to Garage (great Jazz place). The apartment was lovely and had all the things we needed - small kitchen, air conditioning (it was really warm!) and the cleaners came 5 days of the 7. It was excellent value for the quality and location and we really enjoyed 'coming home' each day.

There were great cafes and patisseries close by - Rocco's canoli was to die for! There is also a laudry across the street, where we had a large bag wash for only $12!

i would stay again tomorrow and recommend to anyone travelling to NYC looking to be away from Mid Town.

We also at at Yvonne's restaurant - Doma - which was terrific.

Room Tip: You may here the street noise when the garbage trucks come and also late on Fri & Sat nights as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#189 of 469 in New York City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,008 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#322 of 469 in New York City
950 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#212 of 469 in New York City
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Address: 31 Jones St, New York City, NY 10014-4149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing