We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jones Street Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jones Street Guesthouse”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the main floor apartment on August 29 and 30th for a short New York city stay, prior to a family wedding in New Jersey. The apartment was cutely decorated and clean, tucked in the fun West Village neighborhood. Although it is next door to a bar, only once did I hear vocal revelers walking by, for about 10 seconds. The air conditioner looked ancient but worked like a charm. The owner is friendly and very easy to work with and we got a $5 day credit to their restaurant a block away - Doma na Rohu, where we enjoyed a very tasty brunch. It is also a great spot for people watching in the neighborhood. The area is a very convenient base to the subway system and a nice mellow neighborhood of families, away from the frenetic Times Square area, for example. There are a ton of great and reasonably priced restaurants steps from the apartment. like Doma, John's Pizza, Murray's Cheese House, and Caravas Place for Gyro Sandwiches and Greek Salad. I would suggest the owners put in a small microwave oven to heat up the yummy leftovers from the surrounding restaurants. We had a short window and no time to cook using the range in the room. I would love to come back and stay here for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10000_Laker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Jones St Guesthouse made my trip to NYC perfect! Best location for real New York life, surrounded by great food and music. I stayed in the Parlour Apartment which was ideal for a business/pleasure trip. Restored building was very special and immaculately clean. Close to subway, very easy to get taxis and free wifi. Thanks Evelyn!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aandd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the Parlor Apartment for seven nights recently as part of our nine week trip around the UK and the US. Jones Street was most definitely an accommodation highlight. We had already spent seven nights staying in midtown Manhattan, and wanted to move down to the West Village for a change of pace. We loved it so much than we actually ended up spending a bit of time in the room - there is so much to see and do in NYC, but it was really nice to have our own space as a bit of reprieve at the end of long days. We loved the furnishings, and the fact that we could make our own tea or coffee or lunch or dinner if we wanted to. We had quite a few hot days, and found that the air-con and fan worked well - but the windows also open so was great to be able to get a natural breeze. Others have mentioned the noise - it wasn't an issue for us - some nights it was quiet as a mouse, other nights were a bit noisier, but for us it was all part of the NYC experience. The guest house is located just off Bleeker Street, a fantastic street filled with shops and restaurants, and it's an easy walk to the West 4th Street subway station. We had breakfast every morning at Doma Cafe which was also really great, loved it. The other thing to note is that Yvonne sends a lengthy document once your booking is confirmed with HEAPS of local information, and info about the property - it's more than what you would get a five-star hotel, and is really valuable. Someone below mentions that basic toiletries aren't provided - this is true - but it's spelt out really clearly in the information online and that is sent when the booking is confirmed. This wasn't an issue for us, we bought our own toilet paper and travel with own toiletries anyhow. I would definitely stay here again.....writing about it is making me wish we were back there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We rented the Parlour Apartment for 14 nights and loved our stay.
This studio apartment was spacious, with high ceilings and delightfully decorated with antique pieces, rugs, and prints, making us feel right at home. There was plenty of storage for our clothing, suitcases, and other travel things. The small kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed, also the bathroom, which was large enough to accommodate a bit of hand washing during our stay. Also an extremely comfortable bed!
Best of all, the location couldn't be more perfect, being right off Bleeker Street with it's many restaurants, and a short walk to 2 different subway stations. It was terrific to be able to arrive home after a long day walking New York, shower and just go out to eat right around the corner.
Evelyn and Michael were fantastic hosts, always friendly and helpful, and we also loved their restaurant for breakfast every day, and for a few dinners.
The area is quite noisy at night, being a hub for restaurants, but we had no trouble sleeping, even on warm nights we simply shut the main window, opened the bathroom window and put on the ceiling fan. There is also air conditioning for the hotter months.
A little gem in the heart of the West Village. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having been to NYC 3 times previously for extended visits, I was keen to stay in a less touristy area. Having been to visit more areas of Manhattan, The Village areas have always appealed the most, and we decided on staying in The Village and wanted something close to Bleeker Street.

Jones Street Guesthouse had such good reviews that we thought it was the place for us - and it was. The location is excellent - just off Bleeker and in a gorgeous street. Just a 5 minute walk to the subway and close to Garage (great Jazz place). The apartment was lovely and had all the things we needed - small kitchen, air conditioning (it was really warm!) and the cleaners came 5 days of the 7. It was excellent value for the quality and location and we really enjoyed 'coming home' each day.

There were great cafes and patisseries close by - Rocco's canoli was to die for! There is also a laudry across the street, where we had a large bag wash for only $12!

i would stay again tomorrow and recommend to anyone travelling to NYC looking to be away from Mid Town.

We also at at Yvonne's restaurant - Doma - which was terrific.

Room Tip: You may here the street noise when the garbage trucks come and also late on Fri & Sat nights as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I really wanted to like this place as it is clearly a labor of love on the part of the owners.
It is really the only place to stay in the heart of the West Village. The location is supreme
as you stumble out your door to bakeries,eateries and jazz clubs. The Parlor Apt. in which
I stayed was charming in a shabby chic kind of way and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Do not expect any amenities. In other words: bring soap, shampoo, etc. My major issue
was with the noise. The windows are not sound-proofed and consequently anything going
on in the street is heard inside. It is impossible to go to sleep before midnight without earplugs
and sleeping pills. Light sleepers should take note. I really urge the owners to invest in
double-paned glass.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ithacabound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn P, Owner at Jones Street Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I always feel kind of sad when I have to respond to these things. I just can't figure out why folks want to say things on the internet that they wouldn't say to your face in the hallway. Sigh.

We are very clear in all our correspondence with guests about what is and isn't offered here -- among those offerings, soap and linens, but not shampoo, cleaning most days but a pretty self-serve type of check-in, a sweet old brownstone, but nothing fancy. That is why we are among the lowest priced comparable options in the Village. The apartments, at almost 500 sq ft, are very large by NYC standards, and our guests receive continental breakfast everyday at our restaurant nearby.

We are also very clear that we are in the heart of the Village, not a town in Mexico where this guest lives. When guests ask me about noise, I immediately encourage them to stay in a high-rise in Midtown. Though we did get new windows a few years back, and they are double-paned, noise is a very subjective issue, and anyone who is concerned about it should not stay in the heart of the Village. Some nights our street is the quietest in town. Some nights, well, it is the Village! We raise two small children upstairs, and we all sleep just fine. We sleep even better at our cabin upstate, of course, but we don't go to our cabin so that we can experience the heart of the Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We hired both studios for ourselves and our two teenage children. Fabulous location in the heart of the West Village, with wonderful shopping and a cool, retro vibe (Bob Dylan and girlfriend on the Freewheelin' album cover taken in this street) easily walkable to so many interesting and iconic sights and neighbourhoods, with two subway stations minutes walk away.
The studios are very stylish, furnished with beautiful vintage and antiqueish furniture, warm, fragrant and lovely to come back to after a hard day's sightseeing, The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms perfect, and the little kitchens well-equipped for preparing breakfasts and dinners if you occasionally want to eat in. Evelyn the aimiable host gave us a very helpful dossier of information and it was good to know she could be contacted easily if needed. This is definitely the place to book if you appreciate peace and calm after a day engaging with the frenetic energy of NY, and if you like thoughtful, authentic chic rather than bland or brash hotels. A little bit of heaven in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraphim16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Property: Jones Street Guesthouse
Address: 31 Jones St, New York City, NY 10014-4149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing