We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Table

Market Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 13,107 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $36
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Bedford Street
Transit: West 4th Street- A,C,E,B,D,F,V trains and Houston Street- 1 train are the nearest subway stops.
Description: Thank you for choosing Market Table. Should your plans change, please call us at 212.255.2100. We look forward to welcoming you.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at Market Table. The service was great--attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Food was top notch. Watermelon gazpacho was unusual and delicious. My husband had the steak and I had the chicken--enormous portions with imaginative accompaniments, all very delicious. People watching out the windows in the West Village was fun too. Only complaint is that like most restaurants, it was very noisy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanandToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    122
    23
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wow! What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great lunch stop. The watermelon gazpacho is like summertime in a bowl. It made me smile. The lemonade preseco cocktail was also refreshing! The falafel was a treat - highly recommend it. Others enjoyed the specials - avocado blt and shrimp salad. Yummy:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Truly Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Found this place through Tripadvisor and so glad we did. Lovely ambience and very friendly staff who knew their menu. We are a family of 4 with 2 teens and we all chose fish which is most unusual. So glad we did as it was all fantastic, even the side dishes were super. Pudding was to die for. There weren't any small kids in there but our older teens loved it. Don't just turn up, book, as they only take reservations. Yum, yum, yum

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No Liquor, Pushy Wait Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Only beer & wine served here, NO hard stuff. Our server was VERY pushy. We ordered beers and wanted to talk and catch up. Waitress came over every 2 minutes to take our food order. She had no personality, made our meal unpleasant. We told her it was a special birthday, she didn't say or do anything. Our food was just ok. The squid (appetizer) did not taste fresh.
Very cozy dining-room but extremely noisy.
**When making a reservation you should be told they serve no alcohol.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I went to this restaurant based on the great Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The service and food were outstanding. Great find in Greenwich Village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allabouttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Table also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Market Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing