We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Breakfast Table in West Village”
Review of Market Table

Market Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #539 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Bedford Street
Transit: West 4th Street- A,C,E,B,D,F,V trains and Houston Street- 1 train are the nearest subway stops.
Description: Thank you for choosing Market Table. Should your plans change, please call us at 212.255.2100. We look forward to welcoming you.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Happy Breakfast Table in West Village”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We found this place as we were walking around randomly deciding where to have breakfast. With so many places to eat in New York, we played our cards right with this one. Nice place and a nice breakfast served up right. I am getting accustomed to NYC prices, but three of us at $82.00 before tip is still more than I would like to spend for our order of pancakes, side of eggs, 2 bacon
orders, poached eggs , quiche and three juices. I gave up trying to budget in NYC. Enjoy the city and enjoy this place for a good breakfast!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bymollyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    131
    29
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I ate here on a week night and it was delicious. It was our first time there and the food is unique and tasty. We had the fried clams for an appetizer. The chicken and pork dishes are out of this world. We skipped dessert. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. They only serve beer and wine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edel27215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I will happily sit at this Table”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I enjoyed a fantastic meal at this restaurant with a work colleague back in November. We were actually looking for a different establishment, but could not find it on Bleaker Street. We came across this restaurant and it looked nice from the outside, with a really good menu. The inside and experience did not dissapoint, the service was first class, the atmosphere was very urban chic and the food, well i remember the taste of the lamb to this day!! All in all one of the best restaurants i have been to, anywhere, and that is quite something..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Syksey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE place to go!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose to visit Market Table because of the reviews here and have to say this place is even better than we expected. The staff's great, the food is as well and the atmosphere of the restaurant is something you don't want to miss in a restaurant of this size and pricing. And: They have great wines to offer - even Austrian ones ;-)

When we had dinner, it even started to snow outside, which made the view of Bleeker and Carmine something special as well. But even without that romantic feeling, you should enjoy watching the streets outside, the food, the beverages, the service ...

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mir70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had dinner at Market Table on a Tuesday night. The restaurant feels very cosy, with it's brick walls and dimmed lights. Plus, the music is not too loud, which is good. We ordered the beet and goat cheese salad and mentionned that we would share. They brought us two little salads instead of a big one. It's a fine (and rare) attention. The salad was very good, although I found the horseradish to be a bit overwhelming (but that's my personal taste). For my main course, I chose the veal cutlets, which can be quite blend or dry. This is one of the best veal I've ever had. It was perfectly seasoned, moist and tender. It was served with lemony artichokes and celery root puree. I wish there was more of that silky puree on the plate. My partner had the braised pork shoulder with grits, roots and a tasty apple-mostarda chutney. Her dish was equally delicious. The service was efficient but never intrusive. If I lived in New York, I would definitely become a regular at Market Table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Papaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Table also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Market Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing