We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch but pricey!”

Community Food & Juice
Ranked #746 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Celebration,Florida,USA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good lunch but pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had lunch here with a group of friends and family. We were 5 people and we each had a simple salad or sandwich plus a non alcoholic drink. When the bill arrived I was stunned that it was well over $120 before the tip. Although all of the food was good, I do not think it was worth what we paid.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    89
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always go there for the eggs benedict”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Whenever I stop over in NY, I indulge in the eggs benedict at community food and juice.

I love the ham and the hollandaise sauce and clean up the plate. The carrot hash browns are also pretty slick.

Service is fast and good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I'm disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had fantastic memories of brunch here the last time I was in NYC a few years back. This time round, I went on a weekday and was disappointed by the selection and flavours. I had the burger cos there were so few choices for brunch. The burger was well done when I asked for medium rare and I had to send it back. The fries were the best thing about the meal. And it took so long both times. I'm no longer dreaming about the brunch there. Maybe it's got a better weekend brunch menu? And it's frightfully noisy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I used to live around the corner from this place and though there were plenty of good breakfast options to choose from in the area, Community is by FAR the best. The farmers plate and the maple butter french toast are UNBELIEVABLE. I used to take my out-of-town visitors to this place as well and they would pretty much refuse to go to any other place for breakfast after that. Place is really modern and clean, food is delicious... the only negative is if you go for brunch you'll have to wait in line (its worth the wait).

And now that I no longer live in NY, I still dream of a perfect breakfast from community. They would make a killing if they opened in Cairo. ::sigh::

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
252 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This a pleasant local-foods spot up near Columbia that has a huge following. There was a line when we arrived and we scored one of the few remaining lunchtime tables. The menu is broad and filled with some really intriguing items. I had the "bowl of beet"--heirloom beets with goat cheese, balsamic drizzle and pistachios. It was a nice light lunch, but low on flavor and high on price. I'd give this place another shot.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melvillean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Community Food & Juice also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Community Food & Juice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing