We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple good quality low cost ”
Review of Empanada Mama - CLOSED

Empanada Mama
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Colombian, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simple good quality low cost ”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Busy place but we were lucky to get a seat straight away in the outside part- which is basically the door way cover in winter! - Very good server who was very busy but balanced that with explaining things to us, Tasty guacamole and plantine and spicy chicken empanada didn't disappoint! It's simple food but well priced - if you are pretentious foodie you probably won't like it - if you want tasty good value food in a vibrant atmosphere then this is a good choice - particularly if you like spicy food!

Helpful?
Thank Bobbybroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    201
    37
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Came again and brought a new fan”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

You can't really go wrong here. The food and prices are great. It's small but I got a seat each time I've gone so no complaints.
This time I got watermelon lemonade, spicy chicken and beef empanadas. My friend got the cheeseburger and a columbian sausage. We also got guacamole.
As usual, everything was delicious. Service was good.
I will come here every time I'm in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Leila318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Empanadas Amazing”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Late evening first night in City, wanted something hot and fun.
Small, hot , crowded and wonderful.
We ordered about 4 empanadas each.
Not a single one disappointed.
I liked corn better than flour.
Dessert empanadas were great ending to first day in NYC.
Come and enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A fantastic hole-in-the-wall - great food and prices!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

What a great little (and I mean little!) place!

Portions are small (order two or three to share, the cost is from $2 to $6!) and mimosas were delicious and only $4 each - for NYC?!

We liked the business, the service was slow-ish due to how busy it was but we didn't mind, we had a tiny table for two at the top. We ended up taking with the table next to us (hard not too, the tables are about 10 inches apart!) and they were fun, sweet NY natives - we had a great time.

If I were a local, I'd be here at least once a week!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

One word: YUM! I stumbled on reviews for this spot and decided that my next trip to nyc would include a visit here. We decided to eat here for lunch yesterday and I am so happy I did! Place is VERY small but we decided to eat in (it was freezing outside!) Apart from being right next to other diners in very close quarters, it was fine. The waiter was extremely helpful and offered suggestions. Based on the Yelpers, I knew to order the spicy chicken empanadas. I also ordered the seafood (viagra), and plain chicken and the hubby got cheesesteak ones and a side of maduros (sweet fried plantains). I made the mistake of eating the spicy chicken first which made the others, though yummy, pale in comparison. Hubby thought the cheesesteak ones were delicious too. I also had a coconut sangria - delish. Great service and great food. You can order to go and pick-up as well. Will be one of my regular spots here on in!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empanada Mama also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing