We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome empanadas, great value, hole-in-the-wall!”
Review of Empanada Mama - CLOSED

Empanada Mama
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Colombian, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome empanadas, great value, hole-in-the-wall!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely delicious and fresh empanadas. Try the spicy chicken and the Brasil. Also the natural fruit shakes and the amazing dessert empanadas - my favorite is the one called Romeo and Juliet. Service is friendly although the place is often very crowded. Quintessentially New York! Love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank worldexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    200
    37
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pine, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was good and reasonable”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was hopeful this would be amazing. We enjoyed ourselves anyway. The empanadas and areas were a little hard/overcooked on the outside. Food overall needed more flavor. Fine, friendly service, just ok food. Hard to imagine it's so highly rated on TripAdvisor, but maybe we ordered the wrong things. Ate small plates not entrees. The menu looks very creative. I'm open to returning, especially late night or take out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beandlivechocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place, tasty food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cool decor, and the empandas are pretty tasty. I went with a friend and tried 6 different savory ones, and 3 sweet. All cooked well with no complaints there! Note: It is a very small restaurant & the tables are close together.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine15106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Empanadas and Red Sauce”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I eat here a couple times a month. Most of the time I order empanadas, which are always delicious. I've tried other items which are good as well. My absolute favorite thing is the red sauce. I keep some in my fridge so when I order from other places I can use it on their food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent empanadas”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went on a weekday evening and got seated within 5 minutes. The place is a bit cramped, but the empanadas are all amazing! We tried 6-7 amongst the 3 of us, and there wasn't a single one I wouldn't try again. And the apple cider drink with a shot of whisky was incredible! I highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cielbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empanada Mama also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing