We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tasting food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Empanada Mama - CLOSED

Empanada Mama
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin, Argentinean, South American, Colombian, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went here twice in 5 days, love the empanada's and the Arepas, first time i every had a arepas, the spicy is chicken is so good. Tiny palce so expect to wait a little or get a take away. Staff are friendly and quick...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    200
    37
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was the best place we had lunch at in New York. We arrived as soon as it opened for lunch and still had to wait a few minutes (very small) but well worth the wait. The guacamole and plantains are not to be missed- totally amazing! We had spicy chicken empanadas and a rice and shrimp dish that was the special of the day and both were fantastic! For dessert don't miss the guava and mozzarella empanada or the banana and chocolate one. Both also outstanding. If we get back to N.Y. we'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fourhikersarewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great South American, Cuban, Carribian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Busy place. It is one of those holes in the wall that I like. It is packed so it is loud. That's what happens when the food isI a cut above. I recommend it highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
401 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Empanadas very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant was right down from the apartment we rented in NYC. It is very small. Literally you can't get in to the chair unless the table is moved. You brush elbows with the person beside you. It was very loud (music) while there.

Our food was great. The guacmole was very good. There were 5 of us-most of us orderd the empanadas. I ordered 2 empanadas and an order of rice. My husband ordered one of the entrees which he said was very good. It wasn't expensive at all.

If you are in the area it is a great place to have a bite to eat for a fun lunch or dinner. Just be aware it is loud and close.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST OF THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just one thing to say...
WORLD'S FIRST CLASS empanadas....
An hour to wait ? No problem ! Put me on the list... This is one of the only place I wait that amount of time to be seated... It is worth it !
Service is great. Food is awesome and it is quite cheap !
There are empanadas... And there are empanada mama!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empanada Mama also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing