We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, tastefully presented” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natsumi

Natsumi
Reserve with OpenTable
Natsumi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #198 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway + 8th Avenue
Transit: Subways: C E, 1, B D F V
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, tastefully presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

After the reviews here, my friend and I went. The shrimp and chicken dumplings were nicely seasoned, and we had the chef's choice meal and sushi: both good and very nicely displayed. Prices weren't through the roof and it had nice ambience. I'd go again.

Helpful?
Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    212
    44
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Creative Japanese near Broadway theaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

A great pre-theater choice. Decent Sake selection, very fresh sushi, and reasonable for the high quality of the food. Service could be a little better, but it was mobbed with pre-theater diners all arriving at once. Tables are a little too small. But I would definitely return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fresh & Inventive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

nice sushi place - good happy hour - the tempura sushi roll is the best - nice inexpensive bottles of wine also

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HAYNES5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I ate here on a whim during our most recent NY stay. We did not have a reservation, on a Friday night around 8pm, and we were seated with no problem. We decided to sit at the sushi bar itself to watch the guys making everything and had a lot of fun.

Our server was very knowlegable about sake, which may seem silly, but it was helpful because we keep wanting to like it, but couldn't find anything we liked. She recommended one called Wakitaki and it was WONDERFUL.

The guys making the sushi were talking and laughing the whole time and they seemed just as facinated by us watching them as we were. We were in cocktail attire; I didn't notice if others were similarly dressed or if it was more casual. They made us a "chef's special" appetizer of cucumber, salmon, avocado, jalapeno, and roe... which was WONDERFUL! I don't like spicy food so I had my husband try it first; the avocado must have balanced it out because I was able to eat it and it was phenomenal. It was a rice-less sushi that the guy made "for fun", he said.

I ordered the Maki (?) special, where you can pick 3 types of sushi/rolls for $18. My husband had the Chef's Specialty, which was $25 (I think). Mine had 18 pieces of sushi total (3 types, 6 pieces of each), I can't remember how many my husband had.

Even though we eat sushi frequently, my husband has never mastered chopsticks. They ribbed him about it but made him "kid's chopsticks", which he used while laughing the whole time. I'm sure they would have given him a fork but he wanted to learn and the server spent a few minutes showing him how to use chopsticks.

They were also kind enough to point us in the direction of a good bakery when we asked where we could get cupcakes for our friend, who had a birthday during our trip.

I will definitely be going back the next time we are in NY!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delectable sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Googled sushi in NYC and found natsumi. What a great find! Sushi was out of this world and the service and atmosphere was equally impressive. Highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natsumi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Natsumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing