We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Fig & Olive Uptown

Fig & Olive Uptown
Reserve with OpenTable
Fig & Olive Uptown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,293 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: between 62 St & 63 St
Transit: Subway: F Train to Lexington Ave/63rd Street station; 4,5,6 Train to 59th Street/Lexington Ave station; N,R,W Train to Lexington Ave/59th Street station
Description: At FIG & OLIVE, we want to highlight our menu’s core ingredient of olive oil, which we use in place of butter in our dishes. From a sweet and delicate olive oil from the French Riviera that pairs well with a Steamed Lemon Sole Papillote to an assertive Spanish Picual or a Tuscan olive oil that holds its own with Seared Salmon with Fennel and Green Olives, and a green-fruit Provence olive oil that we serve with a Green Apple Sorbet. Our cuisine along with an elegant white, green and terra-cotta décor immerse our guests into the essence of the Mediterranean region.
Yardville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food here was very good and the service was excellent. It was a great find as we were unsure which place to try. The paella was excellent and was part of the Prie Fixe menu. We would return to this place again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    93
    46
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place for Brunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the place is relatively small so it's not really ideal for big groups. however, if you are taking a loved one - you should defnitely hit this place. the ambiance is very pleasant, brightly lit and the service is great.

we ordered three Crostinis - (bottom to top) 1) Prosciutto, Ricotta, Fig, Olive, Walnut, 2) Tuna, Sesame Hummus, Scallion 3) Salmon, Ricotta, Citrus, Cilantro

Lobster Bisque with meat - this was pretty decent. not a lot of lobster meat but i suppose it would suffice

Octopus Gallega - this was an interesting dish. the octopus was very thinly sliced. it was good nonetheless, however, i'm not sure i would order this in the future.

Fig and Olive Waffle - if you love waffles and despise pancakes, you wont be disappointed. infact, you may never want another waffle from another place again!

Penne Funghi Tartufo - this dish was a typical pasta dish.

Fig and Olive Burger - the side sauce and the fries was definitely worth it - the burger was alright but it could have used a little more seasoning. if i were to order this again, i would definitely ask for more of the sauce.

there weren't really any misses at the place, however, this place also wouldn't be somewhere i'd go on a repeated basis just because we dont splurge often, but we're definitely going to come back in the future for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Enoteca , with great appetizers and good food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Try the cheese and meat plate appetizer. Wonderful place for lunch. A little pricey but not overly so. Worth a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Storey-Myrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Near Bloomingdales; the food is so delicious and attractively served and fresh - and its quiet with an adult atmosphere. Also on Open Table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

No doubt, the food is very good.... IF you can get a table. I like this one much better than the Fifth Ave locale. Very neighborhoody feeling. Pop in before or after Bloomy's, an easy stroll away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig & Olive Uptown also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fig & Olive Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing