We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute greek restaurant which is always busy!”
Review of Ethos Meze - CLOSED

Ethos Meze
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 33rd and 34th Streets
Description: Established in 2012, Ethos Meze is a new Mediterranean meze (tapas) restaurant and bar located on the corner of 36th Street and 3rd Avenue. Here at Ethos Meze our Chefs have infused the tastes of Mediterranean cuisines to create unique dishes both meze and large. Our owners have designed and constructed Ethos Meze to mimic the Mediterranean ocean with spectacular blue lighting and a flowing wave-like ceiling. As you sip on one of our original cocktails such as our Greek Mojito, Black Martini or enjoy a bottle of our Organic Greek wines, we are sure Ethos Meze will become your new favorite dining experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cute greek restaurant which is always busy!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We came here a few times while working in NYC. Great location for Murray HIll area, the food was good and the free pita bread is lovely very moreish! I recommend the hummous and the salads are huge, enough for lunch next day! Would come again and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute little place in a good location. The service was average, food was bland and the dining room was loud. We went for a weekend lunch and the restaurant was moderately full. The servers were friendly but unattentive. Dishes that one would expect to be well prepared - hummus, for example, were bland and unseasoned. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back, but it wasn't the worst meal in this neighborhood.

Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysAcadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Interesting Menu”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Six of us dined here on a Thursday evening. Our reservation was honored with our table waiting for us with no wait. The full menu was more extensive than I expected with additional specials. Our group ordered a wide variety of dishes including lamb, paella, and shrimp dishes. Everyone was pleased with the quality, taste and portion size. The service was superb, unhurried but efficient and polite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoForTheRoad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Gyros!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visit New York City every year usually around Christmas. The first thing we do is order these fantastic gyros DELIVERED to our hotel. They are pretty much as close as you can get to actually traveling to Greece and getting them on the streets...

Delicious!

Not sure about the other items on the menu, because we cannot NOT get the gyros!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiordanOpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped in for a quick bite at Ethos recently and thought the food was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive and the fresh, warm pita bread was quite good! Since we were in a bit of a time crunch we ordered appetizers and a couple of salads but next time we'll allow for more time so we can delve into the entree menu. Definitely a "keeper" on our list of restaurants in Manhattan!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethos Meze also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing