We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Fresh Fish”
Review of Ethos Meze - CLOSED

Ethos Meze
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 33rd and 34th Streets
Description: Established in 2012, Ethos Meze is a new Mediterranean meze (tapas) restaurant and bar located on the corner of 36th Street and 3rd Avenue. Here at Ethos Meze our Chefs have infused the tastes of Mediterranean cuisines to create unique dishes both meze and large. Our owners have designed and constructed Ethos Meze to mimic the Mediterranean ocean with spectacular blue lighting and a flowing wave-like ceiling. As you sip on one of our original cocktails such as our Greek Mojito, Black Martini or enjoy a bottle of our Organic Greek wines, we are sure Ethos Meze will become your new favorite dining experience.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fresh Fish”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Four of us had dinner April 12, 2013. Service was very good--friendly, joyful, playful, and while prompt, not intrusive. Small dishes are fabulous. Main course Scorpio fish was delicious, and waitress recommendation to eat cheek meat was spot on--this was one of the best prepared and tastiest fish I've enjoyed. A little pricey, but well worth it. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent mezethakia”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Seven of us from a nearby church came here for lunch on (American) Easter Sunday. The place was surprisingly non-crowded. Most of us made a meal out of shared "mezethakia" (appetizers). We started out with the dip assortment and stuffed grape leaves, which were accompanied by generous helpings of warm pita bread. All the dips were very tasty; the spicy cheese for once wasn't overwhelmingly spicy. We followed this up with spanakopita--spinach triangles served piping hot, grilled octopus, and stuffed portobello mushrooms. All were excellent. Only one person had a complaint: an elderly gentleman said his chicken and lemon soup was too salty. The waitress was very attentive and cheerful. We will definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A small Greek restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and the restaurant was about half full. OUr waitress was very attentive and the appetizers arrived quickly but after waiting for 30 minutes for the main dish, we were ready to leave. Watching all the take-out orders carried out, we suspect the kitchen caters to the home diners. The food was okay, but certainly not worth the wait.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank whoopsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A bit pricy, but great food!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our first visit - what a busy place! But the service was good and the food better. We shared a Greek salad, then had chicken kebob and the sea bass for main course, with glasses of Syrah.

Nice touch - order 2 entrees and they bring some delicious Greek pastries for dessert.

We will, as the Terminator would say, "...be baaack!"

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel_StonehamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing food and you feel like family!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The entire experience at this restaurant was perfect. We ordered the beet salad and moussaka - I believe these are the house specialties and we know why now - they were excellent. We also ordered the organic baked chicken and this was the best chicken dish I have ever had! After the meal they brought dessert on the house - not just a tasting but a whole dessert dish. We will definitely go back! They have a nice bar area with an upscale feel - we didn't have time for drinks but it would be a nice place to stop for a drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MishNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethos Meze also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing