We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Juniors? Who's Juniors? Hands down THE BEST!!!”

Eileen's Special Cheesecake
Ranked #14 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: SoHo
Description: Eileen's Special Cheesecake opened for business in December, 1975, and arrived in lower Manhattan on December 4, 1976. It was a "ghost town" when I first arrived, but that didn't bother me because the rent was low and I desperately needed a place to bake for my growing wholesale business. I hadn't considered the retail aspects of the business until people started knocking on the door of the bakery wanting to buy cheesecake. With that encouragement, I purchased a bakery case and began to conduct retail business. Soon after our cheesecake attracted the press and we were listed in "Best Bites" in New York Magazine. Radio station WOR rated us "Number One Cheesecake" and we appeared on television quite often whipping up batters of cheesecake. Time passed, and now Cleveland Place is in a popular area where the mix of people and restaurants and shops are so unique. Downtown is becoming the "place to be", and we are actually on most maps now. We survived difficult times, and now "let the good times roll"!
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Juniors? Who's Juniors? Hands down THE BEST!!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Perfection. Every time we're in New York, this is our first stop...even before the hotel!!!! Eileen's IS New York!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rawint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    291
    100
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

OMG these cupcakes are so so good!!!
First, I love them because of their sizes. They're individual small ones so you don't feel that heavy (and guilty) for the rest of the day when you have one... Then, the top/cheese is soft and spongy as I love them !! We had the classic and the caramel ones. They have other pastries but din't try them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzynovore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, but not sure it's the best!?!?”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Good, but not sure the best! Long way to go if your not visiting SOHO. They serve small individual cakes instead of the more usual large slices! Enjoyed the cake but not sure it should be ranked as high as it is!!!

Helpful?
Thank Rob_T7330
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
“I have never had a best dessert in my life”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Eileen's Special Cheesecake is the best cheesecake I ever had in my entire life. There is a huge variety of flavors and types of dessert and I cannot really tell which one is my favorite, because every time I try a new one, it adds up to my list of favorite desserts. Simply delicious!

Since I found out about it, Eileen's Special Cheesecake has become a ritual to me. Every time I go to New York I have to go at least twice in the same week. The prices are very affordable for everyone also. I think it is the best bakery I have ever been to.

Congratulations Eileen for so many years of success in your business!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annitaabadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The BEST I've ever had”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was honestly the BEST cheesecake I have ever had. I can't speak for the flavored cheescakes, but I had the original, and OMG was I ever so sorry, that I had only purchased a mini (I was on the way to airport, so couldn't go back for more :-( ). It was perfectly light and the crust was sensational. I loved that they used a FRESH strawberry topping. I WILL BE BACK.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bermy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eileen's Special Cheesecake also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eileen's Special Cheesecake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing