We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Atmosphere; Great Usinger Dogs & Big Breakfast”
Review of Big Daddy's

Big Daddy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Daddy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #524 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 19th and 20th Streets
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R, Q & L trains to Union Square/14th Street.
Description: It's always a party at Big Daddy's! Big tasty burgers, frosty shakes and totally awesome tater tots! We are a casual, fun, cool, hip, groovy, super delicious place to get a meal or a cocktail that is always sure to hit the spot. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night munchies! It's always cool and hip with Big Daddy's!
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere; Great Usinger Dogs & Big Breakfast”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

One afternoon while walking around the city (our home) we were looking for a new casual place to eat and couldn't find anything that looked too interesting to us. As we frequently do, we stopped into a local residence and asked a Doorman (rather large man that admitted his love for food) for his recommendation. He pointed down the street to Big Daddy's and told us it was a great place for diner food. When we entered we were a bit skeptical as there was only one other customer in the restaurant. However, by the time we left every table was taken and there was a line of people awaiting tables.

My wife ordered their big breakfast combo which was huge and fantastic! She couldn't eat half of it but loved it (not to worry, i helped her finish some of hers). I was so excited when I read that the restaurant used Usinger Hot Dogs from Milwaukee. If you don't know Usingers then check out their website as they are an authentic old world meat shop in downtown Milwaukee. I ordered the chili dogs with tater tots and they were absolutely terrific. I walked out stuffed and satisfied.

The staff and service were great too. Very nice and friendly which you don't always find in NYC Diners. We liked it and decided to start going to the Big Daddy's closer to our home on the upper east side.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Daddy's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We always love to hear what our customers are thinking. We have a wonderful relationship with Usingers and we love their dogs! Thanks again and we look forward to serving you at Big Daddy’s next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    127
    49
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Family friendly & popular spot in NYC. We ate at spot on park ave south in Gramercy area on a Sunday @ noon. Breakfast is served all day & they offer some unusual choices (cookie dough or bacon pancakes). Milkshakes are a popular item - cookie dough, birthday cake, Cookie Monster, pancake, bacon Milky Way - are a few of their unusual flavors. Spiked milkshakes are on the menu too. "Boozy Brunch" is available anytime for $12 (Unlimited bloody Mary's, screwdrivers & mimosas). They weren't weak & our waitress kept them coming until she was told no more! Our table of 7 had lunch & breakfast; everyone's meal was good. The atmosphere is friendly but busy. Noise level was LOUD but there were several young children throughout. They didn't take our reservation but accommodated our needs within 15 minutes. Everyone should experience Big Daddy's in NYC at least once!

Helpful?
Thank gretchenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Daddy's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We always love to hear what our customers are thinking. We take great pride in our unique dishes!! Thanks again and we look forward to serving you at Big Daddy’s next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, huge portions!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this place by chance when we were staying in a hotel a few blocks away and were looking for somewhere for dinner. After discovering Big Daddy's on our first night in NYC we liked the food and the atmosphere so much we went back the following two evenings too! The burgers are huge and really tasty, we did try the tater tots but have to say we preferred fries with our burgers! We also ordered a side of onion rings - they were crispy and very tasty, and as the portions are so big one to share between two was more than enough. Service was great and the staff were friendly, even taking the time to explain the basics of American football to us!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorraineW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Daddy's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We always love to hear what our customers are thinking. There is no greater honor than loyalty - and we're so happy you visited us several times during your stay. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you at Big Daddy’s next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“american diner experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excuse the facade & run down appearance. We found it by chance, checked out it had the necessary 'A' rating, entered & were asked if we had booked!! It was full of locals. What better indication can you have? Retro interior, friendly service, good food! I don't normally eat burgers ....but I made the exception here. Cooked as only I will eat meat, which is rare. Even rarer if you asked for that in the UK. Good stopping point to get filled. Never tried any dessert - too stuffed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Daddy's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We always love to hear what our customers are thinking. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you at Big Daddy’s next time you are in town, and we hope this time you will have room for dessert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Woww! What a great diner!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

had a very lovely meal at Big Daddy’s. I always check the restaurants I plan to go during my travels in advance and this helped us a lot before going to Big Daddy’s. We learned that there was a happy hour (appetizers and milkshakes are half-off), specials for certain days and birthday gift if you join the insider club. My husband’s birthday was a week ago and he received a coupon as he joined the insider club earlier.

We were at the restaurant around 4 pm and there were lots of available tables. Our waitress was lovely and helped us a lot explaining the menu, specials etc. We ordered the original big daddy hamburger, Mr.French Dip (beef sandwich) and tater tots with cheese to share. Mr. French Dip was OK, hamburger was great and tater tots were to die for! As drinks, we had cookie monster milkshake (milkshake with oreos), bananas foster milkshake and a beer. Cookie monster milkshake was the best milkshake in my life, no doubt!

The portions were huge that we didn’t manage to finish the plates but we literally licked the glass of milkshakes! With birthday coupon and happy hour discounts the bill came around 25$. Not only Big Daddy’s satisfied our stomach, it also made our wallet happy. Definitely we will go again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happilyeverafter0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Daddy's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We always love to hear what our customers are thinking. We're especially grateful that you decided to celebrate a birthday with us as well. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you at Big Daddy’s next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's also viewed

 

Been to Big Daddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing