We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prohibitionist Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Please Don't Tell

Please Don't Tell
Ranked #921 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Village
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Prohibitionist Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Love the fact that the entry to this bar is through a non-descript hot dog joint that also offers a decent feed if you need it. The entrance is through a phone booth that acts as the door bell. A man opens the door and once you're through, you get transported to an underground bar as if it were the late 1920s. A cool vibe in this dimly lit bar, with an interesting variety of cocktails. An alright selection of scotches, but they have a decent variety of ther spirits. The bar staff are pretty friendly, great mixers of potent cocktails. People mention that this is an expensive bar, but compared to where we come from, the prices are cheaper than here. We loved it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    111
    35
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
savannah ga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kinda rude until you get in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

As other reviewers described, you have to call and call and call to finally get through to make a reservation. We were double-dialing from the Natural History Museum and it took us over a half hour to get through, but we finally made a reservation for 4.
Arrived 15 minutes early, told to stand in line (outside) with those who did not have reservations, and someone would come out to gather those with reservations and admit them. No one ever came outside, so one of us went to the phone booth and finally got the aforementioned Indian gentleman to admit us. After that, it was a FUN experience, with all of us trying different drinks and chatting with the waiter and the maitre 'd. I don't feel the need to return, however, because the drinks are expensive and those with ice contain very little liquor, and those w/out reservations were treated like felons. It's a "been there, done that" kind of experience, but one we still talk about. Waffle fries with pickled jalapenos from the affiliated hot dog joint, however, were excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dshea1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome speakeasy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

First off, it's hard to get a spot here! You have to call at 3pm on the day you want to visit and ask for seats. We managed it on the second attempt and it was worth the hassle and the roaming charges! Enter Crif Dogs, an unassuming hot dog joint... and in you go. I am sure others have ruined the surprise but I won't! Entrance is a brilliant quirky idea, and inside is dark and cool. Sat at the bar which I would recommend so you can watch the bartenders at work, they really know their stuff. The cocktails were fantastic. Recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirLance80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very cool hidden bar inside a phone booth in a hotdog shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is a real experience and definately worth it. But, be prepared for a wait. they take your number down and call you if a place opens up; so the smaller the group the better. Just put in your name early, and enjoy the other bars in the neighborhood!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prohibition Style Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We made the mistake of not getting a reservation which I would highly recommend. Instead we were told that they would take the first 13 people in line so we waited. We were the 2nd people in line and when we got to the front of the line we were told they were double booked and it would be over an hour wait to get in. Thankfully someone didn't show and we were able to get in sooner. The drink menu is both varied and amazing. Once you are in the bar, the food and drinks come lightening fast. We had a couple of signature dogs with drinks and were super pleased with the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Please Don't Tell also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Please Don't Tell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing