We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apart Hotel in Manhattan!”
Review of AKA Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKA Central Park
Ranked #230 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice Apart Hotel in Manhattan!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

AKA is a modern, friendly and nice place to stay. At walking distance from Museums, Central Park, shopping, 5th Ave. and many top restaurants in Manhattan. Staff very friendly and helpful, keeps low cost by not providing daily housekeeping and no room service. If needed you should pay for each call. On the other side you can request fresh towels and trash removal anytime with no cost. The room is a Studio type with integrated kitchen, complete hardware for 2 people, bathroom and closet. A note is the noise... One can hear people in the aisle and hall, doors slamming, air conditioned and so on, almost all the time. Not a big deal but sometimes things get annoying. Breakfast is at the next door Cafe and has "a la carte" menu, expensive! Better buy food in many of the market one block away. Overall, it was a good stay and likely we will come back.

Room Tip: rooms in the back face a brick wall! Noisy rooms in the 5th and 6th level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    151
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
115
179
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here at aka central park and it was just to die for!! Very close to 5th Ave and shops/food .. After a long flight from Australia (Melbourne) we were greeted with friendly and helpful service.. Our room was beautiful!! We will be staying here again for sure!! highly recommend!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed for a week in this hotel and we really enjoyed it. Comfortable, spacious rooms with a fully equipped kitchenette. But, being in the city we only used the refrigerator to keep our drinks cool. For morning coffee we crossed the street to the Green Cafe and at the Well Green Market at 1413 Avenue of the Americas (6th Avenue) you can compose your own lunch/diner if you don't want to go out and eat.

Public transport at Columbus Circle, on 6th Avenue and on 5th av/59 st will take you anywhere you want to go. Be sure to get a map!
Central Park: the first morning we woke up very early because of the jetlag and it is really fun to walk in Central Park at 6 am, watching the cyclist and joggers enter the park.
Walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, MoMA, Radio City Music Hall and more attractions, combined with a great room is the reason we really recommend AKA for a longer stay. It is not cheap, but great value for money.
And the always present and friendly doorman will kindly open the door when you enter or leave the hotel......;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

First time to New York and this was a great location to base ourselves for 10 days, close to Central Park and Columbus Circle. The room was spacious and well equipped with a microwave, fridge and sink. The staff were really five star, they ensured we were look after in every aspect of our stay. If we had a question they had the answer and knew how to assist. The AKA was an easy walk to Times Square, the subway and 5th Avenue. The bed was conformable, linens and towels were good quality. The room was very clean and well appointed. The air conditioner was difficult to get just right, but did the job. Choices for places to eat and visit within the block were excellent. Highly recommend the AKA to travellers, I know we will be going back.

Room Tip: Choose rooms above the fifth floor just to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy204051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Being a reluctant city traveller I chose AKA Central Park for the obvious reason of being near Central Park. The location was fantastic. The suite was very large and extremely well equipped.
The staff well informed and friendly. Request answered so quickly it was laughable. The walk home from Times Square was no problem. Do not use the pedicabs they are very expensive. Absolutely loved NY and would definitely return to AKA Central Park.

Room Tip: We loved the suite for the convenience of a well equipped kitchen and separate lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanineGreenwichNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the AKA for a little over a week on a holiday visit from Australia.

For a tourist who had never been to NYC before I would recommend the AKA for a couple of good points:

1. The location is great. I spent my second week down in Times Square which is close to the bright lights but is also like being in a football stadium 24/7. AKAs midtown location is a bit more 'relaxed' as far as Manhattan goes but still convenient to short subway rides or walks to all the other bits. Manahattan isn't actually all that big compared to the importance of location in, say, Sydney.

If you are, in particular, wanting to spend time seeing Broadway shows, Central park, the Metropolitan, the Lincoln Centre, or shopping 5th Ave then I think this is ideal.

2. The staff are used to long stay visitors and international visitors. They were always ready to help but far less intrusive than was my experience in another high end hotel. Its just good service, less pretence, and I like that.

3. Very comfortable air conditioned rooms with a high standard of cleanliness. The aircon was noisy - but it is also worked against New York humidity and heat with good success. There is a pretty good gym in the building, a lounge bar I didn't go to but looked nice, and a good cafe nextdoor with excellent morning after coffee and omlettes. There is a business centre if you must.

The only downside is that my room was internally facing, so I had a nice view of a brick wall. Thats not usual in Manhattan - if you want rolling hills then you are in the wrong place - but if it is an issue for you then you will need to address it specifically in your booking/check in. I wouldn't personally spend the extra money for a central park view - its just around the corner.

This is an ideal base for touring New York, and a welcome refuge to return to after a hard day of touring and before heading out for the evening.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay. Its only weakness is that, if you want the grand view from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank altakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wonderful Hotel, wonderful staff-Thanks Jessica for securing our fabulous room with a balcony.
The suites are spacious, beds incredibly comfortable-everything anyone could want!
Location is amazing, close to everything.
We will return and you should too!

Room Tip: Higher floors the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#113 of 468 in New York City
578 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#262 of 468 in New York City
6,099 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Central Park

Property: AKA Central Park
Address: 42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Central Park Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing