We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky, cool, and stylistic”
Review of AKA Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AKA Central Park
Ranked #202 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swanky, cool, and stylistic”
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Stayed here for first 5 nights of our holiday in NY as wanted to be close to Central Park; we were not disappointed. Apartment block is 3 mins from the park (which should be an absolute must on any NY visit). Reception staff were incredibly cheerful and everyone was helpful and accommodating.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast (not cooked but very nice indeed!), complimentary afternoon coffee and fab cakes, scones, etc. If it is depleted just ask/knock at/on the kitchen door and the staff will replenish immediately. Not sure about the evening spread being complimentary but on the first evening we were pleasantly surprised by a superb spread of cold meats, bread, salads, etc - wow! Apples are available at anytime on the 2nd floor.
Decor is stone, slate and steel; very modern but cool. The apartments are modern, spacious and very comfortable, containing all you require - just what I would expect in a serviced apartment.
Free internet access with PCs or Macs is in the eating area so you can have a coffee and cake and browse your emails.

My only gripes would be the lack of natural light; we were on the 5th floor and I suspect it wasn't such an issue higher up; and the noise of the AC unit outside of the window. If I had paid the full price I would have expected an apartment on a higher floor; Priceline customers are more likely to be on less desirable floors (but not always).

I always consider my measure of any stay is the willingness to stay at the same place again..yes please...just higher up!

Would/have recommend(ed) this place to all of my friends.

  • Liked — The spacious aprtment and complimentary buffets
  • Disliked — Not enough natural light and noisy AC
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BBFly_by_niter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    151
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
115
179
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We recently spent 4 nights at the AKA Central Park.
The location is great: close to restaurants, shops, metro and obviously Central park.
The room was a little bit small but very clean and equipped with modern furniture, plasma TV, small kichen in the entrance.
The negative point was that the air conditioning was noisy.

Continental breakfast was ok but we would have appreciated if, in addition to coffee and thea, some juices (or at least mineral water) were available.

Persons at the reception were very kind but not prepared as we would expect from a 4 stars hotel. No info on Brodway shows, no suggestions for tours or others.

In any case, sooner or later we will return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditionning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We spent a considerable amount of time selecting this (not inexpensive) hotel for a once in a lifetime stay in New York. On arrival we were told that a 'corporate client' had decided to extend their stay - which meant there was no room for us, not just for the night but for the whole of our 9 day stay. Not what you want to hear after travelling for 17 hours!

The desk staff did not handle this in a very professional manner, and no senior management were on hand to talk to. We were offered us a room at their sister hotel near the United Nations building with a 'take it or leave it' attitude . What choice did we have (see our review of that hotel)?

What was also galling was that they said that even though we had paid Expedia in full for the accommodation, technically they hadn't been paid.

Not my idea of customer service!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
4 Thank ABJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights. I am a frequent visitor of New York city and let me say this is a perfect option for business and leisure travellers. The hotel is perfectly located near restaurants, shopping, trains and - of course - central park.
The room was large, with a small kitchen and a decent size bathroom. Large and comfortable bed with plasma TV and good quality sound radio/clock. The acceptable price lead me to return in this perfect "new york" aparment.

  • Liked — Complimentary small breakfast and internet connection
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Achiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

The location of AKA is terrific. Just around the corner from the Plaza, 5th Ave, W57th and an underground stop. We had a studio room which was a bit small. I'm told the one bedroom suites are better size and value. There was a lack of mirrors in our room (only in the bathroom). Every thing worked; well fitted out and no fuss professional operation. Will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My wife and I stayed at AKA Central Park (1 bedroom) for 2 nights while in NYC recently. The room was terrific and the amenities were outstanding especially when compared to what you get at a normal chain hotel. We've stayed in Midtown Manhattan several times at Hilton, W, Marriott, etc and the rooms always felt very small and cramped. Not at AKA - plenty of room. The location was perfect for shopping, dining, central park, etc.

The suite had a full kitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances. The living area was very spacious with comfortable furniture and a Sony flatscreen. Bedroom was huge and contained a plush (and comfortable) king bed with high end sheets and plenty of pillows. Bedroom also had another Sony flatscreen and a walk in closet.

The bath, while not overly large, was top of the line and we would stack it up against anything a 4/5 star hotel can offer. High end stone floors and walls and upgraded fixtures. Bath amenities were top notch and they even included a container of bath salts.

It was the small touches that impressed us such as - towels were large and plush (plenty of extras were provided), terry bath robes, hair dryer, Voss water in the fridge, etc.

Fitness room had a good variety of machines, free weights (dumbells) and treadmills and elipticals w/TVs.

Breakfast on the 2nd floor that was provided was simple - muffins, pastries, yogurt, cofee (excellent by the way) and tea.

Complimentary wireless was great, fast - no issues at all.

Some of the previous reviews mentioned noise. We were on the 9th floor and were not bothered. Keep in mind this is Midtown Manhattan in NYC.

We would definitely stay again at AKA Central Park and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Size, amenities, comfort, location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank divingmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We spent a weekend at the AKA to hang out in the city. What was described as a suite was really a good sized room with a tiny kitchen in the entry vestibule. The bathroom was only large enough for one person to stand it. The room was nicely furnished and immaculately clean. Continental breakfast was served in a nicely appointed room and was excellent. The gym is well equipped but no earphones were available in the gym or from the front desk. The staff is well meaning, but not extremely professional. One major problem is the overnight noise from the loading dock at the Park Lane hotel across the street. They seem to have the garbage picked up nightly at 1AM and it is VERY loud. Overall a fair value and reasonable experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NJsuperdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#134 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#121 of 468 in New York City
578 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,214 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#261 of 468 in New York City
6,099 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Central Park

Property: AKA Central Park
Address: 42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Central Park Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing