We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect before or after Broadway”
Review of Casellula

Casellula
Ranked #823 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Midtown
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect before or after Broadway”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Found it on Trip Advisor, tried it before the show, not disappointed. Casellula is a tiny spot with a tiny kitchen, intimate and full of atmosphere. We sat at the bar and enjoyed MatchBook “Tinto Rey” the Chicken Liver Pate topped with housemade crème fraîche and the Chicken Apple Sausage Spaetzle. A lovely experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    56
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went to Casellula last night after Jersey Boys - what a lovely wine bar. Prices are reasonable. We asked the sever to make us a cheese plate based on the glasses of wine our party ordered - so delicious!

Only suggested - to offer more options for ordering glasses of wine (nice list for ordering by the bottle!).

Be prepared to wait in a line - only about 10-12 tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“For cheese lovers!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you appreciate good cheeses, you'll love this place. On a recent visit to NY, I went to this small restaurant tucked away in Hell's Kitchen. I was blown away by the choice of cheeses available. Contrary, to what I'm used to, we had a selection of cheeses served as appetizers paired with chutneys, or other suitable accompaniment for each cheese. You can choose any cheese you want for this introductory dish or go by the recommendation of the very knowledgeable staff. Items on the menu are traditional but with a unique twist such as shrimp tacos or grilled cheese with chèvre. Their mac and cheese is to die for. Some dishes are not huge and are more the size of tapas which makes them ideal for sharing rather than having each person order one dish for themselves. They also have a very comprehensive wine list. The wine is also sold by the glass which makes it easy to pair with different cheeses.
One word of caution: the place is rather small and if you're not prepared to wait a bit, then go early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing choice of cheeses”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing choic of cheeses, very god wines by glass, we didn't order meals but seated at the bar I must say the food looked really tasty!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilleslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh My Word, YUM”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant revolutionised my view of American cheese. Astoundingly delicious food and drink in a beautifully kitted out space, served by people who really know what they are talking about.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyPerdita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casellula also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Casellula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing