We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 cents for a dumpling and they are the best on the planet!”

Vanessa's Dumpling House
Ranked #820 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“25 cents for a dumpling and they are the best on the planet!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We decided to stop into Vanessa's during our 2 day trip to NYC after seeing a food show special on the place. These things are incredible and they are a nice size. Please, if you are in NYC you must stop in here. You will not be disappointed. There is even a window where you can see the ladies making the dumplings by hand. There are several items on the menu but we were there just for the dumplings. Seating is limited as it is a small place. Can not wait to get back there!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    134
    34
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will be back again!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, ridiculously cheap price, I'll be back again to be sure to try at least another 5things on the menu. Everyone there that is dining in is friendly and shares their favourites as well which is great and makes a return trip a must!! Quick service, even when the line was out the door. Travelling from Australia this was a fantastic gem to find!!............... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natashatare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Who would have ever thought that, in the middle of New York City, you could go out for lunch and buy more food than you could eat, have a drink, and have some real quality in your servings and still pay under $5. I am still gobsmacked that I was able to have some great delicious dumplings, wash them down with a lovely herbal tea, and still walk away with change from $5. Get here at least once when you are in NYC!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sovereign_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Omfg”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is awesome. Super cheap, great dumplings. Wife and I ate ourselves into more than one food coma on $3 roasted duck or pork sesame bun sandwiches. One sandwich per would have been enough, we each had many more than one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crnickazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yum yum dim sum!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is sooooo good and yet such a bargain!! Having never eaten there before, we way over-ordered - we assumed the servings would be tiny because the prices were, but the food was plentiful. The scallion pancake sandwiches were so good, the dumplings were gobbled up, and the flavors were generally delicious.

There's limited seating and the location we went to, in the middle of China Town, isn't exactly high dining, but it's worth it.

Note: you have to spend $18 or something like that to be able to use a credit card - that's enough to feed 6 people in our experience!!

Mmmmmmm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leighcecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanessa's Dumpling House also viewed

 

Been to Vanessa's Dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing